You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Body grammar

in #health6 years ago

I know I need to work on my posture. Like too many people nowadays, I tend to slouch. I catch myself slouching from time to time and have to correct it. Habits take time though.

I am decently skilled at grammar, as I had an English teacher who believed in studying grammar. Therefore, I tend to have a better eye for things than others. It used to get me in trouble when I would correct the grammar of my friends and family. I've since stopped making corrections as they are mostly undesired. That's just been my experience.

back about the importance of looks but, the way someone carries

I've noticed over the last few months that you put the comma after the "but." Is that common in Australia? I know there are different rules for things in different countries. In the US you would say, "... back about the importance of looks, but the way someone carries" instead of "...looks but, the way..." That's really interesting.

I like learning about the linguistic styling of various counties. It gives perspective which I value.

Sort:  

Thats funny the way you made a comment on the comma. I Noticed here that it is on either side. I even caught myself doing it also. I was taught it goes before, but what do I know about grammar.

it isn't common but, I like to use it this way to change the emphasis slightly. putting the 'but' back there behind the comma puts more importance on what is is to come. I have used it this way a lot in spoken and carried it over intentionally. It interrupts the thought process a little and creates a space to prepare for the next bit of information.

Noticed this too from the beginning. I usually place it before but, sometimes I like to use it after also, to create a different emphasis like you do ;)

When it comes to grammar, written or otherwise, I tend to spend more effort on the message transaction. If I think that something can be utilised to increase uptake/retention, I use it even if not grammatically correct. I was a terrible English teacher but, a good teacher for improving communication.

I approve your message :P

I figured that it was intentional. You seem like a very intentional person. I like that you made it your own.

I always had the same question about the comma hahahaha. Finally I have the answer

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99