Death By Gastric Bypass

in #health7 years ago

If any of you have seen the show "My 600 pound life" you will find that these people are in need of it to live and survive. Some people see this as an easy out from responsibility of getting healthy. I have experienced this on a personal level.
My mother got gastric bypass 18 years ago, and since then it has caused her to fight for her life rather than saving her life. She weighed a little over 300 lb and needed an answer to fighting off all this weight. She was offered gastric bypass, and so she trusted her doctors and took that step.

The doctors reconstructed her stomach and intestines which caused her to digest her food differently than a normal body. This is what causes the weight loss but has caused her issues with diarrhea, which caused an extreme case of kidney stones throughout the years. When I say diarrhea, I don't mean once or twice a day, I'm talking 15 to 16 times a day. My mom has been fighting her problems with her kidney stones for the last three to five years, one the size of a golf ball. The doctors tried to blast her kidneys to break up the stones to pass them, which caused her three separate septic infections that caused her to have a blood clot in her brain that will now never go away.

Now I'm not saying she didn't lose weight because she lost a lot of weight. But was it worth it? My mom just turned 50 years old and is now trying to get on disability because of the damage this blood clot has caused. She now can't handle any light or noise has to take numerous naps a day losing her memory and emotionally unstable to keep a job. The blood clot has caused extreme pain and headaches and all the doctors can do is prescribe nerve deadener which has caused her to become a zombie.
As a child of hers, I am extremely sad that this will potentially shorten her life. I want her to be around; I don't care how heavy she is I want her in my life.
What it all comes down to is the effort the physical activity she needed the stable healthy diet. A knowledge she was never taught growing up. This is only one case of the turnout of gastric bypass, but the long-term results are outrageous.

The way I look at it is after the surgery you are given a strict diet to follow. If you follow that diet without the surgery yes it may be hard because your stomach is still the same size, but in all reality, it is the healthiest way to lose weight with no repercussions. I want to hear other people's stories, and experiences with weight loss surgery and I would love for you to comment below and let me know what you think. I know there are several types of weight loss surgery which is not the full gastric bypass that my mom got over 18 years ago and I'd like to hear those options if any of you know about them, Or have experienced different types of weight loss surgeries.
My mother is now seeing a better doctor at a university where they are helping her find ways of making her more regular, so she's not constantly producing more and more kidney stones. I am hopeful for my mom, and I am hopeful for everyone else out there struggling with the repercussions of weight loss surgery, and I am hopeful for those who have weight problems they're trying to fight it on their own.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear how its been for your mum. A member of my extended family had the surgery (though not sure which kind). She almost died due to an infection caused by the op. A few years down the track she developed cancer. Cause & effect? Nobody can say for sure, but all in all, she has had a terrible time.

Im sorry about your friend :( I hope to see more and more progress with my mom.

I really hope you guys find a solution to your mom's problem. I always been scare of the surgery for can easlly go wrong

I really hope so too. She has been through the ropes! The surgery scares me too. For several years my dad has been saving for the sleeve surgery and it makes me very nervous.

I'm sorry to hear about your mother and pray she finds some relief from her problems. A coworker of mine lost a sister-in-law to gastric bypass and, in that case, the doctor and patient had conspired to lie to the insurance company that the surgery was for gastroesophageal reflux since her insurance company didn't cover gastric bypass. My wife follows a childhood friend on facebook who had gastric bypass and he's had a number of complications and hospital admissions since.

I have seen some real success stories too, where patients are no longer diabetic or hypertensive after the surgery and are able to get off all of their medications. I think the one of thinking of was a Roux-en-Y Gastric Bypass. Bariatric surgery is definitely one of those procedures where you want an experienced surgeon, and team (nutritionist, mental health, exercise physiologist).

I completely agree with you. Doctors need to do a little more research on what types of weight loss surgery is good for what types of people and thier situations.

In a gastric bypass, there are no unused organs, it is a rerouting of intestine and stomach. If they remove a piece it goes to the pathologist and then the incinerator.

Excellent post. I know people that Gastric Bypass has saved his life. Some cases of obesity is because genetic.

Where it is a genetic issue, do you believe this is a good option?

yes because it can safe his life.

hola! sigueme y te sigo:)

Check out boogie2988 on youtube. Hes documenting his recovery on youtube.

Thanks for the suggestion. I'm totally going to check that out!

Sorry to hear about your mom. I hope it pans out for you all. I never had surgery of any kind, but got diagnosed with hyperthyroidism. I delayed my diagnosis due to life and work.

Health first... everything else can wait.

Wow, hypothyroidism sounds like something that would be hard to control. Good luck with your health!

Hyper, not hypo.

Oh I am totally stable and off my meds now. It's just that in textbooks, I am with this for the rest of my life, it being a auto-immune disease and all.

So sorry to hear your mum's story. I never knew gastric bypass could have such complications. I wish her all the best .They usually say that the only side effect is weight loss.Thank you for sharing and letting others know about this, you may have saved a few people from future distress :) I resteemed to create more awareness

Thanks for the resteem!! I hope for the best for my mom she is my rock.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67974.72
ETH 3841.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74