TOP 10 TIPS FOR TRANSITIONING TO A VEGAN/ PLANTBASE OR VEGETARIAN DIET🌱steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago

Hey everyone! This is my first post on steemit so cut me some slack lol. I figured since this is my first post id tell you a little bit about myself and why ive changed my diet to eliminate all animal consumption along with my Top 10 tips for transitoning into a vegan or vegetarian diet. Now I Know everyones situation is different so ive kept it as general as possible so everyone can benefit.

d96eb3b91330f18fc536afc5b5f36797 (1).jpg

About me and why i changed my diet:
To put it plain and simple.. I want to be in peak physical and mental condition. After many trails and errors i realised that first a mental shift needs to happen, and only then will the rest follow. The same applies to all who make the decison/mental shift to a healther diet but in reverse. You see once you begain eating healthier you'll first start noticing changes in the body, but after some time you will begin to notice shifts in your own mental state such as clearity, improved memory, and faster cognitive skills. Everything I just typed is exactly what I have experienced and continue to experience today and my oh my.. By far the best decsion I made. 🌿
So without further ado.
Here are my Top 10 tips for transitioning to a vegan/plantbased or vegetarian diet:

  1. KNOW YOUR REASON for making the transition. Whether it's for your health, animals, the environment or all three, stay connected to your reason via books, documentaries, etc to help motivate you.

  2. Make a COMMITMENT. Changing lifelong habits requires a new mindset.

  3. Find SUPPORT-via social media, friends, and family.

  4. Realize that your family & friends might need time to adjust to your decision; ask for support but if you don't get it, don't spend all of your energy trying to convince them. Find support elsewhere & KEEP DOING YOU.

  5. Pick your PACE. You may be ready to make alot of changes, or you might need to move more slowly (eg changing one meal at a time, eliminating one type of animal product at a time, or just crowding out animal/processed foods with whole plant foods). Either way, you need to prepare & plan (shopping list, pantry/fridge, meal ideas, restaurant options, etc). #transitioniskey 🔑

  6. Acknowledge your CRAVINGS & try to find yummy & healthful substitutes (e.g, cocoa banana 'nice cream' instead of chocolate dairy ice cream).

  7. If you fall off the wagon, don't worry. Just let it go. Remember your purpose. GET BACK ON.

  8. Fill up on the MOST NUTRITIOUS FOODS first (vegetables, fruits, nuts & seeds) even if you also decide to eat some more-processed 'transition' foods. Make sure you EAT ENOUGH. Plant foods tend to be less calorie dense than animal or processed foods, so you may need larger portions &/or more frequent meals. It’d be a good idea to invest in a juicer or a blender so you can get the most out of your produce. Making Smoothies & Juicing is a great way to satisfy your hunger.

  9. If you take medications and/or have a chronic health condition, work with your MEDICAL PROVIDER as you transition- sometimes meds require adjustment very quickly.

  10. EDUCATE YOURSELF📚 on the basics of a healthful vegan/plantbased or vegetarian diet.

Note: If you dont know where to start, a good base to learn from would be the documentary titled "What The Health"(I posted a photo below). You can find the documentay on Netflix and if you feel overwhelmed after watching then just take a look at Tip #5 again.

I hope this has helped you and there will be many more posts to come! - @vegan.goodness

Sort:  

A great post! I want to start eating healthier but tasty options like veganized asian dishes , so looking forward to your other posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64