Urban Gardening using Containers on a Balcony

in #health5 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, right now I currently live in the city and I don't have the luxury of planting the nice garden I would like. I do like to eat some fresh veggies though so I have to do with what I can! I'm going to upload new pictures of my container garden throughout the season. These 1st set of photos are all within the 1st week of planting. Most of what is being grown started from seed except for a few seedlings we got. Almost all of the soil mixes are pretty generic even though some of the plants thrive in better setups. I used the previous soil from my containers last year but i also bought several bags of compost, vermiculite, plant food, etc.

First up we have this leftover plant from last year. We have a cat named Arlo and he LOVES catnip and catgrass. These were both grown last year and will grow more this summer.

Next up we have an Aloe Vera plant that was a cutting not long ago that we are trying to keep nice and moist until it forms a nice root base, then it will only be watered once a month during summer months. We did not grow this from seed, but the original came from Publix Grocery Store that we got the clipping from. The two small containers both have sweet pepper seeds planted that I will keep you guys updated on as well in the future.

Next up is Onion's. I love Onions.. I have 3 18'' containers that I am currently using for these. I bought a pack of these starter bulbs really cheap and this is what they looked like before and after I planted them all!

I was able to get 1 strawberry plant going from seed about 2 months ago, this is what it looked like before and after transplanting it. I also got a few types of strawberry plants to go along with this one. and now day 2 after being transplanted and some of the new plants (much bigger) to go with it!

In the photo above the containers in the bottom part of the photo has 2 Jersey Blueberry cuttling's that have a small root-base that was transplanted in the past 2 days as well. Here is a better picture of 1 of the Jersey's.

Here is some lettuce and spinach from seed. This stuff grows super fast. 1st picture is day 1, 2nd picture is day 4.


These tomato plants were bought like this but we transplanted them into the bigger containers you see them in. They were purchased at Lowes 4x for $10.

I was a little late on getting my seeds going, but I have a few strawberry, tomato a few green bean, some squash and cucumber going as well. I will show pictures once they sprout and I get them transplanted to proper containers.

I will give updates once a week with new photos and progress. Hopefully if you live in the city or an urban area you can grow your own fresh herbs/veggies too if you don't already!

Sort:  

I love to see city dwellers finding places to grow when there appears to be none.
I'm glad you decided to start posting again after such a long break. I've given you a shout out in the Homesteaders - Living Naturally, newsletter and I hope we see more of your little container garden as it progresses.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wowcrypto! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @wowcrypto! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75