who wants to lose weight or get toned? 20,000 ways?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #health6 years ago (edited)

From my long career as a fitness trainer I can tell you that lots of people have a wrong opinion about the differences between weight loss and toning up.

crunchs
credit

wrong conception about weight loss and toning

Many people think that in order to lose weight they should simply stop eating.
They also think that toning up is something you get from doing lots of repetitions of a specific exercise for a specific body part.
Like crunches to get a firm flat belly or dumbbell Kickback to remove the loose fat tissue on the back of the arm.
It is wrong!

It's not the fat that burns

They also think that the burning sensation during the workout, is a sign of burning fat in this area.
Wrong again!
The burning sensation is simply the way our body response to the accumulation of hydrogen ions (a byproduct of lactic acid) in the worked muscle.
It is not related to burning fat.

what is right?

The road to losing weight or toning up should be the same.
In both cases, you should reduce fat tissue in your body and retain muscle tissue as much as possible.
This is the way to upgrade your body to a better and healthier version of yourself.

How should I lose weight or tone up?

To reduce fat, you should create a calorie deficit.
Meaning, your energy consumption should be less than your energy expenditure.
To retain muscle, you should exercise.
The best exercise to retain muscle is strength training.

diets on Amazon

20,000 ways to lose weight

In reality, it's not that simple to create a calorie deficit.
There are so many different weight loss diets.
If you search amazon for weight loss book, you will get about 20,000 results.

Which is the best diet of all?

  • How come loosing weight is so complicated, that there are so many books to show us the "right way"?
  • how can one pick the "right diet" from this overwhelming number of 20K diets to lose weight?

That will be the topic of my next post.
So stay tuned and follow me to be the first to know.

Sort:  

Congratulations @yoram! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi there - it's so hard to know which is the right diet - what I'm doing is working for me but I guess it may not work for everyone. Check in with me to see if I make it to my next goal - I sure hope I do :)

If what you are doing is working for you, it means it's the right diet for you.

I look forward to your next post. I want to lose weight and more importantly have a more toned body. Thank you for sharing your knowledge.

Thank you for your feedback, it's encouraging

Not a trainer but I have a degree in exercise science and work in physical therapy. Another common issue is, oh, I'm not losing weight but their clothes fit better. It's called muscle weighs more than fat!!

Yes.
That is why it's recommended to measure the progress with some more measurements like waist circumference and skin fold thickness on problematic areas of the body.

Interesting
I will follow you to see your future posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61369.52
ETH 2929.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66