Looking For Tips To Help Kids Say Goodbye ... The Twins Are Going To Be SadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #healthy-home6 years ago

I'm afraid this won't be one of my usual full-length posts. I'm a little short on time these days. Not only are we right in the middle of moving, but we're in the middle of another transition too...

Matt found a job!!

He was actually offered a teaching position in Cambodia, but just recently our current employer asked him if he'd be willing to go back to the States and work in development for a few months! Even though it means he'll be further away, it's a great opportunity to work with someone we also consider a friend.

Deja vu

They are going to miss their Daddy!

Hmmmm ... we're moving and Matt is going back to the States ... sound familiar?

Well, if you've been following our "living life squared" journey for awhile, you probably remember that last July the same thing happened! We were in the middle of moving when we got the call about the twins. And the day that I went to meet them, Matt had to catch a flight back to the US. That time he was only gone for 2 weeks ... but it was the longest we'd been apart. And it felt like forever!

... This time, he'll be gone for about 3 months!!

Advice?


I would love to hear from some experienced parents about the best way for kids to say goodbye. The twins aren't going to understand why Daddy is gone and they'll probably be on the lookout for him to come back. So how can we help them with the adjustment - specifically saying goodbye?

  • I'm worried that if he leaves from our house, they'll be afraid to leave too (especially since this will be a new apartment). Or they'll be watching the door constantly to see if it's him.

  • If we see him off to the airport, it's going to be early in the morning. And we'd have to make sure to pick him up from there too (at least that's what I'm thinking so they have some continuity).


Any other parents have experience with this?

Perhaps parents who have gone through deployment? Did you notice a difference for your kids when they had to say goodbyes from home vs. some "neutral" or not-frequently-visited location?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and ideas! :)

Sort:  

I wish I'm an experienced parent I would have given a more practical advice.
Anyways, you have a lovely kids

beautiful babes 😱😱😱😍😍😍

This is a bit tough. 3 months is not a short while :( Hmmm. As for Tia, the longest that she had been away from her dad was when I took her home to my family in the province (an island away from where we are residing now) for a week. My partner took us to the airport early in the morning and when we got back, he picked us up there as well. I was with my bestfriend's mom(the one who takes care of Tia) the whole week we were at the province so she was not that anxious on finding her dad. Or maybe she was just too young to do so (she was 6 months at the time). So maybe just try to find some bonding and fun time with the girls?? Maybe it will help them divert them from missing their dad. You know how they are these days; they tend to be distracted with toys and fun activities so I hope it will work for them while Matt is away. Congratulations on the new job by the way :)

Thanks for the suggestions @filnette! I think we'll have to stay busy for all of our sakes (mine too) :) I'm trying to make a list of fun things I can do with the girls by myself. Still have to figure out the logistics of getting around!

I'm also hoping that Skyping with him will help. We did a video chat with him while he was out running errands the other day. Squirt was so happy to see him. She did a little dance in her chair and gave an exclamation that kinda sounded like "Hey!" It was so cute!!

Hope you are doing well! Sorry I haven't had time to be on Steemit lately. I'll try to catch up with your blog over the weekend!

That will be a great idea as well. We have Squirt as reference :) Skyping will help a lot because they will be able to really see Matt.

I'm good actually albeit still stuck at my current job for some loose ends. I was about to ask how you are doing lately (I know your hands are full with the move). I hope you and the girls are doing okay. Has Matt left already? I hope to see a blog soon of you and the girls on the new apartment :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Schubes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @helenoftroy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86