Food as Medicine: Alternatives to Wheat Flour and Sugar

in #healthy-living6 years ago (edited)

Jen and I have recently become more enlightened regarding food, and seeing food more as either medicine or poison depending on what it is. Not that we were never extremely health conscious...I guess it's really just a matter of educating yourself, learning to more and more see your body as the living amazing machine that it is and recognizing it is composed of systems and it has specific needs in order to function as designed. I won't attempt to turn this post into a wikipedia entry on nutrition, but I WILL HIGHLY recommend that you invest the time to watch, with your family beside you, two documentaries: "Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead", and "The Magic Pill". Both will at least start to pry open the eyes of anyone who is still living in ignorance about nutrition.

One of the things we've never given much heed to ourselves is wheat, wheat products, gluten and the like. I had no IDEA there were so many alternatives to wheat as flour! Take a gander at some of the things Jen brought home yesterday!

20180510_074146_HDR.jpg

20180510_074217.jpg

20180510_074152.jpg
I have a feeling I'm going to be sampling some foods in the near future that are very new to my palate, and I am looking forward to it!

Yeah, watch those documentaries. You will be so, so glad you did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59