9 Tips for a healthy Christmas and New Year

in #healthy6 years ago

DFEB62AC-4B09-461D-AD67-21C110C416A6.jpeg
Turkey, minced pies, Christmas puddings – the list goes on. The season of merriment and festive indulging is ‘nigh, but it doesn’t give you a free pass to eat everything at the buffet spread. How to do to avoid eating too much at year-end parties:

  1. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Have high-fibre foods first
    “I avoid overeating by filling up on high-fibre foods before anything else. This usually means fruits or salads with very little dressing.”

  2. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Maintain regular balanced meals
    “I make it a point to have regular balanced meals, so I don’t end up overeating at parties. It’s easy to eat a lot when you’re happy.”

  3. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Don’t eat too many festive treats
    “I try not to exacerbate my already frazzled nerves by limiting my intake of festive treats. Too many goodies throw my blood sugar level off-balance, causing me to feel lethargic and irritable.”

  4. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Stick to the healthy foods at buffets (or exercise after!)
    “At a buffet, I usually stick to salads as well as baked and steamed dishes. If I’ve over-indulged, I make sure I work out for an extra 30 minutes the next day and watch my diet the following week.”

  5. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Eat only what you like
    “At Christmas, I eat only the foods I like and really want to eat – and not just because something’s been placed in front of me.”

  6. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Have small portions
    “I let myself indulge in Christmas treats like pudding and cake, but I go easy on the portions. Healthy serving sizes would be a matchbox-sized portion of fruit cake, half a mini mince pie or three cookies.”

  7. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Take tiny helpings of desserts
    “Christmas dessert displays are super tempting. I always survey the spread before deciding what to eat. Grouped together, they look amazing but when I scrutinise each one, I’d notice if they’re too dry or have too much cream on them, and then I’d think to myself: ‘Nah’. I only go for sweets that look good and make sure I take tiny helpings.”

  8. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Hydrate with this juice blend recipe
    “I make a juice blend of fresh celery, beets, cucumbers and green apples, and drink it twice a day to hydrate my body and replenish the antioxidants.”

  9. Healthy eating tip for Christmas: Go raw after
    “I go raw after all the indulgence, loading up on fresh salads of lettuce, celery, green apples, walnuts and red grapes. Instead of mayonnaise, I dress mine with cold-pressed olive oil and fresh lemon juice.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67597.54
ETH 3772.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55