Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Protein Smoothie

Healthy Lifestyle Challenge #1

Protein shake it up!

A couple days ago I submitted a protein smoothie recipe for @evecab's #healthylifestylecontest on Whaleshares

I had submitted a delicious fruit smoothie the first time, but failed to read that it must be a vegan recipe - NO ANIMAL derived ingredients.

At heart, I am a true carnivore but I am really trying to be better about the things I ingest. Part of that is incorporating a smoothie into my diet at least once a day.

Here is my #vegan friendly contribution to her challenge.

Meredith Loughran

Gather those yummy ingredients!

01smoothie2.jpg

Ingredients

  • 2 TBSP Whole Trilogy Flax, Chia and Hemp Seeds 4g protein
  • 1 Silk Soy Milk ~ 8g protein
  • 1 medium-large banana ~ 1.3g protein
  • 2 TBSP peanut butter 7g protein
  • 1/2 an avocado 2g protein
  • 1 tsp. unsweetened cocoa powder >0g protein

Approximate total of 22.3 grams of protein

Measure and throw in the blender

I like to throw in the seeds with the soy milk first. This gives the seeds time to soften up while I prep the other ingredients.

01smoothie3.jpg

Make some noise

It's not exactly a very pretty color.

I didn't really expect it to be. I mean...
Peanut butter. Avocado. Cocoa Powder...
I'm glad it's more tan than poop color!
But this is the first time I've ever made this recipe so I hope it's good!

Don't forget to snap a pretty picture for @evecab

01smoothie4.jpg

ENJOY

01smoothie5.jpg

Deadline for new submissions is TODAY October 6 so there's time to win some really valuable prizes

on Whaleshares in the form of Whale Tokens

See post for qualifying rules

NOTE: This will take you to her Whaleshares post

Recipe Side Notes

WOW. I'm trying to sip on this protein smoothie and I AM FULL. Like, I can't even finish it!
Some minor things I would adjust with this recipe for personal taste.

  • Next time I'm going to freeze the bananas. It's not quite cold enough for me to completely enjoy.
  • It's also super thick so I might add a 1/4 cup of water just to thin it out a little more (maybe add a couple ice cubes)
  • It's not very sweet but I do not like adding extra sugar. I think a tsp of your favorite natural sweetener might do the trick but I'm okay with it as is.

Consider creating your own smoothie combination and try it in your diet.

I think I'm ready for a nap.

aaa-merej99-footer-WLS.png

Are you participating in the Whaleshares community too? Consider giving @lexiwitness your Witness vote.

Sort:  
Loading...

Looks yummy. Banana is one of my favorite fruits.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks delicious, i might have to try this once i work the calories out. :)

I might as well make a similar drink @merej99 that looks nutritious and delicious too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98