You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hedging to Keep Your Business Revenues Independent of Currency Swings

in #hedging5 years ago (edited)

I am actually buying into Steem to hedge against the U.S. Dollar @gadrian.


The income I recieve largely depends on the U.S. economy and the Global Financial System remaining intact, and without Steem I'd be left with almost nothing should the Global Financial System and USD collapse.

@themoneygps covers some of the reasons why I am bearish about the Global economy. Almost all of the growth in the last decade has been fueled by debt!

Sort:  

And that's wise to hedge against it. But in this post I'm merely talking about hedging one currency against another. It could very well be USD versus Euro. It all depends on the currency in which the revenues come in and the currency the expenses are paid out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah. I think it also helps to diversify.

Owning real assets in multiple countries can also act as a hedge, but I haven't tried to short a currency yet.

Thanks for recommending it as an option @gadrian.

P.S. It might have been good for @ned and @steemit to do this before the crash.

I don't know much about real estate, but I think if they are well invested and by people who can handle the maintenance costs, that's a great way to hedge or even to earn a passive income.

Yes it might have been a solution for Steemit. Frankly, at the amounts of money we are talking about mitigating some risks is a must.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.03
ETH 3299.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90