Creating a "Mega Thread" for Beginner Steemians! (Any and all advice welcomed)

in #help6 years ago

Steemit, I need your help!

I have been attracting quite a few friends to Steemit lately, and have a "Mega Thread" email I have been sharing around with tips and tricks for entry level Steemians. A lot of these people have zero crypto experience, and this is their first foray into our world!

IMG_8492.jpg

I need some help from my followers and the Steemit community to help make it as resourceful as possible! I have some articles about introduction posts, finding content specific communities, and the basics of the Steem blockchain.

What are some articles or accounts that helped you when you first started?

I would very much appreciate any and all links that I can add to the thread! Getting people to read about Steemit and helping them to understand it before their accounts are even confirmed, is quite a task! In the end, it is super useful and this way helps people find much greater success on the platform!

IMG_8491.jpg

Don't fly blind! Share your knowledge and help all of us build the road map toward Steemit success together. Minnows should be supported if they are to grow larger, and that job falls to all Steemians! We were all minnows at one point, so let's not forget them.

Thanks for checking out my latest post :)

Remember to Comment, Upvote, and Resteem if you enjoyed it!

New Content Uploaded Daily

Follow me for all the updates!

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kendama-odyssey
DTube:

Sort:  

I watched basically every video Andreas Antonopoulos has on Youtube, they really helped me understand the importance of the technology, along with the potential it has to truly change the entire world. He has some stuff that's really technically detailed, but a lot of it is generalized for a beginner audience.

He's been on joe Rogan experience too, which is a good place to start. Gives a good breakdown for beginners.

This! All of this! I heard he's got a 3rd appearance lined up with Joe Rogan. Sure to be a banger whenever it comes out.

Yoooo yeah totally. I should definitely link some of his videos in the thread. Ultra important voice to ehar from. Thanks for the suggestion!

Still learning everyday myself, but this is such an important topic! Steemit definitely has an advantage over other cryptocurrency platforms as it is user friendly and people already have a good idea about how social media works. The potential drawback is that people are going to be interacting with private/public keys here for the first time which can open them up to potentially costly mistakes. One huge tip is to keep your private key PRIVATE. I have seen people put them in the memo of their transaction. Not a good idea as the control of your account and funds have now been broadcast to the rest of the world!

Yep, it's a new thing for people to have to control their own security, rather than a giant central entity claiming to do that (not sure how true that actually is in practice though). However, I think generally that's a good thing, to be involved and successful requires actual self-reliance and education on the topic, which can only help people in other aspects of their lives.

Yes! I have already had a friend flub and make a password error, losing them access to an account. (first day troubles). I try to stress the importance of backing up your info and keeping those things private and secure! And in a place easily obtainable. I find once this is figured out, it can actually become really enjoyable to unlock and lock your wallets/accounts and there is a rewarding feeling to that control you now carry.

Appreciate your input! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54