Sort:  

Damn that blows :/

Yeah, it does, lol. I wouldn't mind it terribly if I wasn't forced to buy an account through a third party and trust them with my master key. Of course I can change it and after 30 days of not being changed it would lock them out, but on the flip side I would lose account recovery ability. I wish Steemit offered the ability to just buy the account through funding it directly with them.

You only have account recovery if you create an account via Steemit.com? Can't do that?

Don't use blocktrades (that service charges more for buying steem too, worst place)... this is the current fee:

Account Creation Fee0.100 STEEM

If you compile the steem wallet on linux you can create it yourself through a command.

create_account practicalthought newname "" false

I can do it for you if you want, I've never done it, but I think I can put yourname instead of mine there, but maybe it requires the wallet owner to be the creator, I'm not sure.

I sent in a request, but it was with the first key they gave me. I am slowly piecing this together. I changed my passwords yesterday after transferring in the Steem I got. I went to change it again today after failing to delegate through Steemconnect and it demanded the owner key, which means what I used yesterday thinking it was the active key was really the owner key.

Thanks for the offer to create a wallet for me, but not sure I have the understanding on what to do with it. My investments have been so meager that I have held everything here or on the exchange, never in my own wallet.

I just got a reply from timcliff and he said they will ignore it since it is the wrong key, so I will send them two more requests using what I think are the possible choices from a backup usb drive I keep my keys on (seperate from my main usb that I erased the old ones so as not to confuse myself, lol).

No, the cli_wallet, it's a way to enter commands into the blockchain. You can create an account, like anyone else you pay to do.

You should label your passwords, posting, active, owner...

Yeah, I am learning. I had never done anything with crypto before Steem(it). No exchanges, nothing. I think I have figured out what the old owner key was before I changed it yesterday so now just have to wait for Steemit to reject my current request so I can submit the new one. It rejected my request just now saying they were already working on it.

If it doesn't work, I want to ask more about what you are talking about. So you would create the account, then give me the login and then I could change the passwords using the master key you would give me? No need for me to keep the wallet, it would operate like things are now, only with me being more cognizant of what the hell I am doing?

There is no wallet hehe, just your account which you can access the wallet through steemit. The account would get created, and either I or you would be set as the account recovery account, and you get the keys after creating the account.

That sucks. I would probably do the same thing. Would be very bothersome to me not having the owner key

Yeah, while I am not sure what it is that I can't do other than account recovery with my active password, I still want it. The part that is a stickler for me is forcing myself to trust a third party to buy the account. I really don't know who Blocktrades is, other than they are in the Caymen islands. Which would make getting justice done difficult if something criminal happened. I also saw that there was a service called Steemcreate started by netuoso, but once again I do not know this person. And of course there is Steemconnect, and once again I do not know them. I wish that I could just pay Steemit for the account, lol.

I used steemconnect:
https://v2.steemconnect.com/accounts/create

They seem to be completely trusted with all our passwords anyways. The fee currently is 3 steem.

Thanks. I am hoping I may be able to recover using account recovery. I sent in a ticket, although I know I gave them the wrong password. I went to change it today after trying to use Steemconnect and it failed (vest math) and it demanded my owner key. I changed my password yesterday, which means I have been using my master key this whole time for logging in. That should narrow it down to two passwords I have on an alternate usb drive. Should, lol. When Steeminc reached back out to me I will give them both and keep my fingers crossed.

If that fails, a question regarding steemconnect. I signed up, and from what I can tell all it signed me up for was a newsletter. Not sure how their site works as it is not very self explanatory.

My question (of the many I really have regarding them) is if i pay them 3 steem there will be no need to send delegation?

Yes please, I don't want to lose ya.

What happened to you happened to me once. Before you give up and assuming you haven't done it yet, Google Chrome normally save all the password that you use to log in in your computer. I don't exactly recall how I found the article that shows you step by step how to access the password history but try googling "How do I find password history in Google Chrome?" I was able to recover my password through this process. Hope it works for you to. Good luck.

Thanks, and glad that worked for you. I am not sure I have ever even used it to log in. I normally use my posting password, occasionally using the active if powering up or transferring to another user. I also use Firefox and tell it never to log my passwords in case there is ever a browser attack via malware that would take it.

I may end up still using this one too, but would send whatever it earns to the new one.

Oh dear. that is not good, at least you will be able to have another account, I will support your new account for sure.

Thank you my friend. I will be using this account to upvote the posts on my new account until I can get all of the SP transferred over to is (13 weeks). I will probably still use this account too, just transfer the bulk of its earnings to the other one weekly.

Sounds like a plan to me bro.

Darn, what a pain.

Hahaha yes it is. The hardest part for me, being a control freak, is having to purchase it through a third party and trusting them with my master password if I want a recovery option.

I'm going to start another ad well.
Use both.

I'll be keeping close eye out for your info

Thanks. Strange how this post generated upvotes from lots of user names I have never seen before, lol.

I am going to have to pass on the riot.im thing. I am starting a job tomorrow and between that and the time I put in here I don't really have time to do something else. Thank you for the offer.

I heard you could recover your account with those keys but I've also heard otherwise. Have you checked?

Yeah, I searched through multiple threads on it and the consensus to the others this happened to was they needed a new account.

The part I hate is because I already have this one, I will have to purchase another one through a service like Blocktrades. But I really don't feel comfortable growing an account without the owner key even though I can still do everything without it.

I'm pretty sure anyone can create a new account for free. You just have to delegate Steem Power to the account. I've never done it though so I'm out of my element.

Yeah, I looked into it with Steemconnect. I have never used them before and their instructions are not clear on anything. I tried to open an account with them first and it sent me a verification link to my email. I used that and it looks like all that did was subscribe me to some email list of theirs. Then when I went to their account creation page it asked me for my information and then my password, but then they didn't like the vests I said, which I pulled from the vest calculator. I think I will have to just pay through Blocktrades. Thanks for the tip though, it would have been cool to go this route, just not clear instructions on what they are actually wanting from me.

So, I'm wondering if you've read through the latest steemitblog post about the changes coming in the hard fork end of September and whether or not you could/want to wait to see if you could open up an account for free. They're changing quite a bit as far account creation is concerned. Just a thought. I thought I'd throw it out there just in case.

Good point Glen, I was just reading the same post about that.

Hey, @shepz1.

So did you get out of the post what I did? That as long as you have enough RC or whatever it is, that new accounts can be created for free? That's what seemed to be my understanding, and in the comments there appears to be some concern over it, though it's going to take a larger account to make it happen it sounds like.

Yes that seems the gist of it, so new account creations seemed to be aimed at larger stake holders, now I just have to work out how large, I think in part this was to stop all those little shitty accounts (steemitdefence) that were running around downvoting everything on here a few weeks back, via 60 or more free accounts with steemit delegated 15sp or less.

Right, them and every spammer group with also lower SP. I guess we'll just have to see how this all plays out. Personally, I haven't wanted to open another account, but I might want to in the future, if it makes sense.

I'm still trying to figure out how and then why someone would want so many accounts, other than to make some trouble. That's what the ones I'm aware of are generally engaged in. Some might not agree with that assessment, which is their prerogative. We all have opinions about how things are and how they should be.

I'm just glad that there is an attempt at change coming, and hopefully the unintended consequences can be held at a minimum.

Well another bonus to the hf is that haejin probably has not read any of the info lol, so his self votes within 15 minutes will go back to the reward pool not himself. :-)

I wish I could bring myself to wait, but I don't like sitting here waiting that long without it. I need to begin the process as quick as I can to get the funds transferred over, and will take 13 weeks as it is. Plus, I am uncertain their policies regarding them giving more than one account changes with the fork.

Just as I was about to answer this, I see your knew post and it looks like some others have helped you in the process of recovering the key you lost. So, good deal, glad to hear it, and hopefully that's the end of that. :)

Thank you. I really appreciate your support through all of this.

@squirrelbait and @practicalthought could join me on riot.im ?

Its secured. I'll get hippie to go as well...well maybe anyway 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97