What the hell just happened?

in #hf206 years ago

comics-151341_1280.png

When I signed up to check on steemit and the hardfork yesterday I had a legit "WTF" moment. I got a an error message that I do not have enough SteemPower to make a transaction?!?

What the HELL!

What I am going to do without steem for a few days

The interesting part of all the chaos from the last days to me was that I noticed how not having steemit, being able to read post and interact with other steemians was something I would miss extensively, to the effect that steem has become one of my main source of news nowadays.

While the HF has been, well how do I say this...., a bit chaotic, it is important to keep the main thing the main thing. To me that means:

  • Steem does provide a real use case and application for many people every day (about 50-60 thousand)
  • It is still the only blockchain app that is being used daily by that many people
  • Steemit is bringing new innovations and functionalities forward, although in this case in a very painful way

It's not all bad

So, while all this is a bit annoying and stressful. All these changes create cost, stress and drama for me, specifically since I am running a witness, several apps on steem and working on new ones .

However at the end of the day I know we will all get thru these few days and have a better system at the end of it for it.

Thank you all for being patient and not leaving

So thank you all that are sticking around and not just puking all over this. Specifically when you notice that the steem-bounty services are not working properly.

Lets get back to work

Lets just be a little patient and then we can all get back to what we were doing before the HF.

meeting-1453895_1280.png

All will be well

How did all this happen to you

I would love to hear your experience of the HF20 and how it affected you. How has it changed your perspective of steem?

Sort:  

A Brief Timeline

  • September 25th 15:00 UTC HF20 happens and it's technically a success.
  • The RC system is applied retroactively and if you have been active relative to your SP, you are in RC debt.
  • In few hours comes version 0.20.3 which gets rid of the "debt"
  • About 11.5 hours later 0.20.3 has super majority in Top 20 (and some witness ranks changed too)
  • Then it turns out that nodes has to be running 0.20.3 which takes even more time to upgrade.
  • Finally about 25 hours later on September 26th 16:00 UTC things get normal and functional for everyone (except for RC Equilibration and Voting Power)

Regarding the current state of RC costs I wrote a post: https://steemit.com/steem/@vimukthi/this-is-how-your-resource-credits-are-affected-when-using-steem-based-on-8-hours-of-performance-tracking-on-my-account

My rough calculation is that a heavy user (who isn't a bot) should do well with 1500SP.

My Perspecitve

There is this Indian who carved a road through a mountain by hitting it with a hammer and chisel for 22 years: https://www.goodnewsnetwork.org/man-single-handedly-carved-road-mountain/

A Blind am with a friend with no arms planted a forest in China: https://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/10000-trees-planted-in-china_us_576b6268e4b09926ce5dcb15

Ethereum had 1/3 of its funds stolen and had a Hard Fork and now there are 2 chains. If STEEM gets to the same marketcap we are looking at $100 STEEM. Patience is key and as far as I'm concerned, nothing much happened. except for some loss of VP and some loss of @steemhunt upvotes on my Hunts and a little bit of temporary frustrations and a decent amount of countering FUD and (hopefully) convincing people to not leave STEEM because they can't vote properly for 3-4 days.

Assassination Classroom + Little Bit of Discord

I hung around Discord and talked to people and kept track on @steemitblog and witnesses and watched anime (because I have a life - if you can call it that)


(It's about this guy who blow up 70% of the moon and demand the world leaders to let me teach at a Japanese school)

So @blocktrades has posted that currently 1sp is worth about 2 billion in Max RC's. This sounds like a ton except that it takes about that many just to cast a single vote.

RCs.PNG

While those numbers were given I found that it's BS and it takes closer to 20 billion to post a comment currently.

Before1,029,227,611,0815:27pm
After 1st Comment1,009,646,471,4215:28pm
Net RC Used for Comment19,581,139,660
After 2nd Comment989,524,020,2805:34pm
Net RC Used for Comment20,122,451,141
After 1hr 36 min Recharge1,037,001,771,9897:10pm
Net Gained During Recharge47,477,751,709
Gain Per Minute494,559,913

Now I'm not sure if the recharge is purely based on Owned SP or includes delegations (in and out) so hard to say the recharge per SP per minute rate, but lets just say that I needed to recharge for about an 1.5 hours to make 2 comments with no images....that is crazy considering how much SP I have. I'm not a large account by any means, but I'm still in the higher end of steemit accounts overall.

As of right now I'm not voting as my VP is shot due to the reset to 0 from my 100% that should have been there.

Also not posting as nobody is voting so why bother.

This comment is likely going to be really expensive, lets see:
current_mana 1,055,173,224,190

current_mana 1,032,428,255,394
Cost: 22,744,968,796

So that wasn't as bad as expected. So a simple little comment costs nearly as much as this one with an image.

I hope there will be enough Mana for new Users. If they have to wait for their mana to recover after creating 2 Comments. They will not stay here for long.

"HF 29 was a big success" --- ???

Not sure for whom, but for most users it has been more like an disaster. At least so far.

Being told it might needs 5 days to fix all the issues and the ensure that all users can operate as usual is like an declaration of bankruptcy for Steemit.inc.

Unforeseen troubles right? Well, pretty embarrassing if you ask me.

At least it seems some users get back to usual faster than other, but it will still take time to recover you voting power. And I am wondering if it has hurt the auto voting lists too, the next days will tell us more.

I took a day off from Steemit yesterday since I couldn't operate at all but would like to be back asap.

Hoping the same for all of you guys!!

Let's keep rockin'!!

I think we'd all like to know what happened!

Reactions to HF20:

  • First, don't call a colossal failure a success, Steemit! It's insulting to our intelligence that Steemit thinks that if they call it a success that we'll believe it... even if 99% of us were prevented from doing anything for 24.5 hours.
  • Steemit doesn't seem to be doing the level of testing that any normal person would expect
  • Ned is holding to his strategy of prioritizing the next 100 million users, not the first million. However, at this rate, we're going to be lucky if anyone is left.
  • No word on how many SMT projects have decided to use EOS instead of Steem as a result of TWO blockchain shutdowns within the span of a week

This will be my last post for a while as I typed more than 10 characters, so it will cost me 100 quintillion RC. I'll be back online in 3 years.

Well seems like everything is working again now.
But 24 hours after the Fork I was not able to do anything. No voting, no transaction, no comment and no Post. I don't understand why this happend. They should have done a simulation of the HF before. The problem is that while steemit isn't working people will go to competitors like weku scorum and others. I hope ths will not damage the trust in our dev team.

I didn't expect much from HF20, all hardforks before this one have also been a lot of hype and very little breakthroughs for users, probably they have been good for witnesses and whales. But that being said, I didn't expect the result, not being able to do anything was really troublesome, I would have thought after so much was talked about the HF that things should have run much more smoothly. But frankly as all I have invested here is my time, I really don't have any serious problems with this, of course in the end this RC is good for those with a lot of SP, not so much for those who don't have much.

Hard Fork 20 is the purge of steemit! Users with little stake have nothing to lose and the price has been flat for ages so they'll be leaving in their droves. HF20 was essentially a witch hunt that was meant to curb abuse and reduce botting and we will see if it does but its significantly hamstring all users and makes it counter-intuitive to be an active steemian

In my eyes this fork just prevents quicker redistribution of resources and prolongs the whale club circle jerk that it is. While the HF may help grow new sign ups going forward I don't think it will help retention and ghost and dead accounts will continue to plague the platform

I only have one comment. Steem is not yet properly decentralised and most of the witness (the non important ones) create the false idea that it is widely and well decentralised.

The reason I say this is not exclusively applicable to block production nodes, but also to all influences, non-witnesses and witnesses that are not interested in being a block producer. To reach an high level of self governance and decentralisation the network needs to be very insensitive to investors and the power they control. Yes they should still get rewarded because that is how the system survives, but that should not be the property of governance.

Anyway, I hope both top end blockchains can learn a lot with each other (EOS and STEEM) and make my life much nicer. I will be around living, improving and enjoying it!

Cheers

Posted using Partiko iOS

I still don't know how this benefits steemi and with the upgrades. Yet time will tell.

@knircky has set 1.000 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78