Sort:  

@teamsteem thank you for asking about inflation here because you motivated me to edit the post and address this at the beginning! If every single user only upvoted themselves, we each would receive an interest payout equal to our Steem Power at the current inflation rate. What I show is possible here because about 80% to 95% of voting power is not used although it seems to be consistently increasing as more of us see how much we can pay ourselves! If in a month, each of our votes is worth less because more voting power is used, then it will take longer to vote our own posts up. If the amount of voting power used drops, it will happen faster. Technically my example is conservative because it does not include curation rewards and SBD's conversion rate. I believe going all out on this system would actually double money in maybe 100 to 150 days at the current voting power. Realistically more whales are already spending a significant amount of voting power paying themselves out which will reduce everyone's effectiveness in all votes and generate huge payouts for whales while increasing the amount of days it takes to double money.

I feel that you're right Jerry. With HF19 whales and dolphins like myself have the ability to abuse the power if they want, but in order to bring up the community we need to share that love (SP) to others with UpVoting comments and posts of your humble following. However, I think the 4 UpVotes a day is too slim. The reason I say 4 is slim is that because in order to be more interactive with our steemians that will limit the love that we share to the community. Anyways, just my thoughts, and great article and hard work put into your post. Cheers.
Mark

This post and comment is top notch information.

The explanation seems to be that when people self-upvote they reduce the remaining reward pool for the "normal" curators. The inflation never changes, only the remaining reward pool does. I hope i understood this right.

It's a huge problem nevertheless!

My question is how the numbers change with the growth we are seeing. What does it look like when you have an additional 500k or 1 million active users on the platform? Because I think we are going to see that in 6 months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.31
ETH 3859.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65