Sort:  

Right? I know there are others testing it. And also, I'd like to know, what can we REALLY expect in hf21? Author rewards at zero for the average user?

Posted using Partiko Android

i'm not an author, i'm an avid reader and buyer of steem, so for me it's easy, i only need 10 things i like to read or watch each day to vote on.

{Author rewards zero for the average user} - sounds like real life, sounds like maybe, just maybe a currency with some real value can be achieved with hf21.

Oof, hard pass on that. I want my votes to matter on the things I like to read. With the new rewards curve, unless you prefer viral content to niche content, you won't be rewarding the authors. I've known for a while that my tastes don't align with the mainstream. So, like a Republican in California, my vote won't matter.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dude, I know you're struggling with this, you know I respect you. If you're uncomfortable with an author receiving less, adjust your SP delegation. You have far more than half of your potential in the hands of someone else.

It's in the hands of a program I trust and support, one that I think might be even more essential after the change. It furthermore seems to me that curating the content I like will be less, not more, rewarding. With all of my SP, a 100% upvote from me will be far far less than the 16 Steem line at which rewards are the same. And I like voting on comments and other content that generally doesn't get a bunch of votes. The way I use upvotes and steem power is the way I think steem is best, but it's not what these changes are aimed at, which seems to be offering outsize rewards to what is most popular.

I like delegating to SBI, because I think the mission is worthwhile, and the practical impact has been tremendous. I furthermore think that, if small users are going to stay active on the platform, SBI will play a big role in that.

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess we'll see how it goes. I'm not a fan of every change. But I do know people would be getting paid a hell of a lot more if they didn't centralize SP. And if more people would BUY instead of looking for ways to get the easy handouts, we'd be in far better shape. I just think of Youtube and how much work it takes to get the ball rolling there. Millions of producers, many of them working for years, many have yet to see a dime. I'm more about working on my stuff, hoping to draw an invested following. That's way different than a following. I don't know if you caught that post I linked in a comment above, but it's a good read. Community seemed to like it.

What's the metaphor about people being paid to avoid your shop about?

But I do know people would be getting paid a hell of a lot more if they didn't centralize SP.

Also that part. What do you mean about that part?

If I buy your vote, are you coming to my blog to look, or are you getting paid to look away?

Centralization of SP. If you have a bidbot and 1000 people delegate to it, you've effectively concentrated 1000 people worth of SP into ONE paid vote. That means 1000 people who cannot support your work, as they are being paid to look away. If the concentration of wealth is for profit or not for profit, doesn't matter, the negative effects of concentrating SP into fewer hands still exist.

Also, I didn't know you respected me, but I'm glad to hear it!

Posted using Partiko Android

I just thought everyone knew if I'm talking to them I probably respect them.... LOL!

Also, by average author, I mean those who DON'T use bots. The authors who use bots will, by and large, benefit from this change at the expense of those who don't.

Posted using Partiko Android

The authors who use bots will, by and large, benefit from this change at the expense of those who don't.

That assumes that bot users won't have their bot upvotes downvoted away by larger SP holders who are annoyed by their over-dependency on them (as there is now zero potential profit loss from downvoting at 100% a few times a day, aside from retaliation downvotes, which don't apply to accounts that don't create content and only curate).

This brings up another potential future issue - bot users being annoyed by dolphin/ orca/ whale downvotes on their content that they invested their own hard-earned money into (I forsee some "rage quits" happening in the future due to this). The risk with using bid bots will certainly be higher than it ever was before hard-fork 21, that much is a certainty.

I'm actually contemplating stopping all content creation on the Steem blockchain (as I'm making pittance on it as it is) and focusing solely on curation, so that I can use up all of my "free" downvotes without risk of retaliation from pissed off, entitled, Steemit abusers.

I'm actually contemplating stopping all content creation on the Steem blockchain (as I'm making pittance on it as it is) and focusing solely on curation, so that I can use up all of my "free" downvotes without risk of retaliation from pissed off, entitled, Steemit abusers.

Same here. My career as author may end soon. My new career as whale flagger may begin. :)
I don't care much to earn more STEEM as I have enough anyway to get rich if the STEEM price rises significantly (and if it doesn't, then anyway it won't help to have even more STEEM than now).
The only problem is that I really like to write from time to time, and I guess my articles to become real flag festivals if I keep posting and at the same time flagging abusive whales. :)

The only problem is that I really like to write from time to time, and I guess my articles to become real flag festivals if I keep posting and at the same time flagging abusive whales. :)

I hear you.

One possible solution is to make an alternative account to post from, without leaving any obvious traces to your main account's identity (so you obviously can't vote on it or delegate SP to it from your main account). The problem with that is that we each have our own unique "writing personality" and potential voting retaliators may (or may not?) be astute enough to make the connection.

Odds are, sticking to the same posting format and/or topics (on top of what I mentioned about writing style) will add up to more than enough evidence to make that connection, assuming that the content from the alt-account is sufficiently "visible". If the posts from this alt-account are making mere pennies per pay-out, there's a chance that it can go on unnoticed for eons, haha.

I guess we'll see. I think big holders selling their downvotes and maybe downvoting the trending page seems more likely than them downvoting $6 upvotes from bidbots.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree that that would likely be the majority of the focus (Haejin, don't know if I spelled that correctly, comes to mind as an account that could/ should receive some of that focus), but even a small percentage of the large-holders of SP devoting their power to quelling dependency on bid bots (if I can put it that way) could make a huge difference when it comes to how easy of a decision it is for users to rely on bid bots for exposure/ profits.

Even the "good" witnesses run bots themselves. They think, as long as it isn't flagrant abuse, it's not the problem.

They're against the 100x/day posts that buy votes.

But I think this change will encourage regular users with decent content to buy votes because the system is broken. It's just another step of complication.

I mostly agree. The "regular users with decent content" aren't a problem. Their content deserves to get discovered and their effort deserves monetary kick-back. It's the other seemingly 60% that put out near-literal crap left and right and bot-vote it up to ridiculous payouts that I see as the biggest issue on this platform; them and the greedy, 100% self-upvote whales...cough... Haejin... cough.

i’m down voting the trending page already

i am average author that does not use bots, and the bid bits even cone after me fir being an average blogger

this ngc gotta go, he’s driving me bonkers!
Screen Shot 2019-07-11 at 11.10.52 AM.png

I musta been seeing things, had a few letters jumbled this morning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63313.23
ETH 3079.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89