Africa Beautiful Africa – 13 by @mamabaman

in #hike6 years ago

IMG_2658.1.JPG

Yes this is Africa.

Hiking in the High mountains of Lesotho - In some places the snow was a foot deep!

Snow in these mountains is not a rear occurrence.

It is a most beautiful sight.

This photo was taken about 10 km into Lesotho from the top of Sani Pass.

Sani Pass is a road link between South Africa and Lesotho over the Drakensberg Mountains.

The South African border post is at the bottom of the pass and the Lesotho border post is at the top. Between them is a 8km steep road with sharp bends that only 4 X 4 vehicles are permitted to drive. It is a lovely hike up. And this is what we decided to do. At the top of the pass there is a lovely Lodge with good food and accommodation to suit every pocket - Lodge - communal back packers lodge - camping. They say that they are the highest Pub in Africa.

Sort:  

At first it is very difficult to admit that it Africa lol

You know what, snow is my favourite. You can just have a lot of fun with snow and unfortunatley we don't have it here at my place and now I am jealous of you haha

I grew up in Rhodesia ( Now Zimbabwe). It never snows there, and quite honestly I never knew it snowed anywhere in Africa except for the top of Mount Kilimanjaro and Mount Kenya. When I first saw photos of snow in Leshoto I was astonished. Since living in Johannesburg from 1991 I have experienced two heavy snow falls here in Johannesburg! Almost every year I see snow on top of the Drakensberg mountains, mostly it is not very thick on the ground. This experience in Leshoto in Aug 2015 was the first time I have hiked in snow.

Yeah, exactlyyy, I had the same perception but that's not true lol
Wow, you are lucky you have hiked in the snow. Still I have to do that.
What it feels like when you do hiking for the first time?

Woot. Well said!

Its really a beautiful sight. Good post. Thanks for sharing.

Very nice post i like it

And yes Africa is beautiful

I thought its somewhere in switzerland.
In every walk with nature, one receives far more than he seeks. 😍

very beautiful photo dear friend
i have similar post with your post in iran

At first glance, it is almost strange to see snow and Africa in the same picture. :D But mountains are mountains.

It requires great skill and effort to successfully hike on a high mountain when there is snow. The sight is very lovely and beautiful.

Beautiful view of friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73