You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Backpacking the Alps: Tour des Aiguilles Rouges

in #hiking6 years ago (edited)

Epic hike Daniel! I've actually been thinking a lot about hiking over the last week.

I'm in the stage of gathering gear so your lighterpack link is really useful. I just got this mini-stove and cooking set. Tomorrow I'm planning on picking up the Espro Ultralight coffee press (some Starbucks locations have it in stock). Looking forward to my first forest brewed coffee.

During my research I came across a Google talk by Andrew Skurka he really takes ultra-light to next level. Too light for my liking!

Looking for a balance somewhere between ultra-light and glamping as you call it 😂

Sort:  

Nice. Excited to see where your hikes take you.

Yeah, I've seen that Shurka talk at Google. I'd self-identify as more on #ultralight side of the spectrum, as @trang can attest to (we're hiking the John Muir Trail in September and I get very sad when she selects 20 denier over 10 denier for the exterior of her "puffy").

As far as coffee goes, I've been using some Nescafe Gold instant coffee I acquired from an airport lounge at Heathrow (the only good thing that has ever come out of that airport for me). I also don't bring a stove, so I mix & drink the coffee at whatever temperature my water happens to be. However, I feel that you have more culinary inclinations than me, so you're get more satisfaction out of cooking on the trail.

Are you based in Montreal? I'll be up there for a conference in October. I'd be down for a day hike or grabbing some coffee if the calendars work out.

@trang 😂 funny.

I'd love to go for a day hike, have to bring the press, instant coffee at room temperature sounds horrible!

I'm doing the digital nomad thing, Quebec city for the summer. If I'm anywhere between Quebec City and Toronto come October we should make it happen. Tons of options for hiking in the Montreal area.

From Wikipedia:

Digital nomads are a type of people who use telecommunications technologies to earn a living and, more generally, conduct their life in a nomadic manner. Such workers often work remotely from foreign countries, coffee shops, public libraries, co-working spaces, or recreational vehicles.

Wow! Sounds like the Espro will be generally useful for a digital nomadic lifestyle.

Will let you know about Montreal closer to the date.

@kirkins, I confirm that @dhimmel is very much on the #ultralight side of the spectrum. I reasoned that I can lose one more ounce of body weight before our hike so I can be in the puffier jacket with nicer colors, but he was still very sad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57810.33
ETH 2939.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70