Travel blog #5 by @MikeTravels: A peaceful hike at Cementerio de Montjuic in Barcelona, Spain

in #hiking6 years ago (edited)

barcelona.jpgWorking an international trip can get very expensive, so I try to do inexpensive or free activities when I have a long layover somewhere. One of my favorite cities in Spain is Barcelona. On this particular day, I was fortunate enough to work with my friend Chuck, and Andrew.

Since we were all on a budget, I talked them into hiking with me and go to a Cemetery. I presume that visiting cemeteries is not on everyone’s to-do list when visiting a city like Barcelona, but this one was an exception. After a quick shower, we got dressed, grabbed some snacks at the local bakery, and then took the bus to the Cementiri de Montjuïc. Such a massive and overwhelming location! This place has been on my bucket list for some time because I would always see this on top of the hill on our way to our crew hotel. It fascinated me because it was on a steep slope, and thought it would be cool to take pictures here. Montjuic offers a great view of the city and is photogenic. The place offers Classic and Gothic designs inspired the ancient monuments. There are also a few that were influenced by the Art Noveau movement. The steep slopes of the hillside give Montjuïc its unique character, and it’s a great place to hike and explore if you are looking for something different.

spain2.jpg

Minimalist Tech Etsy Banner.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=miketravels
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-peaceful-hike-at-cementerio-de-montjuic-in-barcelona-spain


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68