TOP 10: Greatest Hip Hop Albums - My Biased Opinion

in #hiphop6 years ago (edited)

Before I begin and to inhabit a narcissistic viewpoint, this is my list, my opinion and my tastes. I am always open to suggestion and others opinions, maybe you can show me something I have never heard before.

I am a self proclaimed hip hop connoisseur, so my list should be in good tastes. This list is in no particular order as my ear appeal shifts depending on my mood. This is simply a list of my favourite albums spanning 30 years of music history.

1. A Tribe Called Quest -The Low End Theory

Release on September 24, 1991 and my god, what an album (RIP Phife). The track Scenario alone, featuring Busta Rhymes is enough to put this album in my top 10. The beats, the rhymes, and flow the swag... this album had everything for a enriching experience. The "pass the mic" techniques used by Q-Tip and Phife is something of a lost art these days that really makes you appreciate the craftsmanship that went into designing these tracks.

2. Mobb Deep - Hell on Earth

Hell_on_earth_(mobb_deep_album).jpg

Released on November 19, 1996 (RIP Prodigy), Hell on Earth does not need much boasting. During the era of reality rap, Mobb Deep pushed the boundaries for gangster hip hop, creating a unique and ominous sound that explored the inner depths of project life. All in all, it is GANGSTER AS F*** and well deserving of the greatest albums of all time.

3. Pharcyde - Labcabincalifornia

Labcabincalifornia.jpg

People throw around the term "pioneers" a lot, but this 1995 release by Pharcyde arguably paved the way for R&B's fusion with hip hop. It was very rare to find rappers that were comfortable to sing on their tracks without discrediting their image, but Pharcyde pulled this off beautifully.

4. House of Pain - Truth Crushed To Earth Shall Rise Again

220px-Houseofpaintruthcrushedtoearthshallriseagain.jpg

When most people think "House of Pain" all they can recall is a bunch of Irish boys jumping around. This was unfortunately Everlast's final album with House of Pain before he started his alternative singing career, but nevertheless, it is a power house. The beats are definitely something that shines prominently in this album, paired with Everlast's grungy, raspy voice, it is a definite hit on my account.

5. Beastie Boys - Ill Communication

Beastie_Boys_Ill_Communication.jpg

Released on May 31, 1994, the Beastie Boys need no introduction (RIP Adam). With probably my favorite song ever made "Get it Together" featuring Q-Tip, this entire album is nothing but a powerhouse of creativity, rhymes and beats.

6. Wu Tang - 36 Chambers

Wu-TangClanEntertheWu-Tangalbumcover.jpg

Though it may not be first on my list, it is first in my heart (RIP ODB). Wu Tang is arguably the greatest hip hop group, ever, period. With their first single "Protect Your Neck" with no chorus, just 9 of the greatest spitting raw verses on a track that gives me goosebumps every time I listen to it.

6. Eminem - The Marshall Mathers LP

11342278_Alt05.jpg

As with any suburban boy, this was one of the first albums to skyrocket my tastes deep into hip hop. Though his performance over the last 10 years has not been to my tastes, this album alone is enough to make me a forever fan. The anger and emotion portrayed in these songs is incredible. Eminem use to have such a talent to elicit feelings in his listeners and despite have very vulgar and controversial lyrics, he was still able to resonate with an entire generation of people.

7. Drake - Nothing Was the Same

img-thing.jpg

Here is where I expect to receive some hate, but hear me out first as an unbiased Canadian. Though I would not put Drake as the best lyricist, this album really showcased how talented the entire OVO team was. I would also place 40 as one of the best producers of all time. The melodic builds and overall emotion of this album as a whole, makes a complete masterpiece.

8. Onyx - All We Got Iz Us LP

Allwegotizus.jpg

If you have ever contemplated what the word "grimy" is, then listen to this album. I have no other words to describe it than that. Sticky Fingaz brings that raw, anger filled sound that gets you jumping every time you listen to a track.

8. Outkast - ATLiens

81ciw5GHuEL._SY355_.jpg

Outkast needs no introduction, as Atlantas front boys for pushing southern rap to the forefront of music, ATLiens was a beast. Using ominous samples with the classic 808 drum kits we have come to love, Outkast pushed the boundaries on this album. I would argue that this new "underwater" approach to hip hop production was influenced very heavily from this album.

9. Prodigy - H.N.I.C.

Hnic.jpg

It is no surprise that Prodigy made my top 10 list twice, he was truly a master MC. H.N.I.C. being his first solo album release, it once again pushed the boundaries for what we know as reality rap. With a complete track list that can be listened to from start to finish with no hiccups, this album truly is one of the greats.

10. Big Sean - I Decided

BigSeanIDecided.jpg

Another album I may receive some hatred towards putting in this list, but I had to include it. Big Sean is an artist I had been watching for many years, sitting and waiting for him to blow up. In an era of mumble rap, he comes with a unique flow and voice with cleaver lyrics that do not disappointing. If you are a older head that is set in their ways, I really do recommend listening to this album.

I do hope you enjoyed my list and I was able to point you to something you have never heard before. I always welcome suggestions and comments!

Sort:  

Interesting choices! Was surprised you didn't go with The Infamous album. Was surprised to see the HNIC album make your top 10 as well! That album wasn't for everyone - but I dug it.

Maybe his recent death is sticking with me, either way, I always loved prodigy.

Great list forsure, I would have put some Gangstarr in there though ;).

The Ownerz was definitely #11 on that list.

You bring me back to those days .....Nice list!

Illmatic? I don't know if Big Sean's album is even the best this year.

I named my first dog after Nas, but truthfully forgot to add him when I wrote this. There’s something about Big Sean in this new era of artists (that I have a very difficult time listening too) that entertains me the way rap did in the 90s. I had to include some new artists to diversify this list, didn’t want to be one of those old fans.

Maybe throw a Kendrick Album in there

Hate to say it, but I am not a big fan. Respect him as an artist just never got into the music.

Nice list, but where's the west? (kudos on Pharcyde tho) Mine would be like 80% g' funk. Rhythm-al-ism :-D

West coast or Kanye? Ha, as much as I love Kanye as a producer I could never get down with his rapping.

oh most def the coast , Kanye is some kinda beast when he's at his best, I think My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was a great album, faaaar from any goat-list tho, and mostly because of the production and guest artists.

I never got into west coast rap until later on in life, I guess I bought into the east coast west coast beef despite having no part in it and being a kid from the suburbs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75