You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Great Emu War: Mistakes and Excesses in a little planet called Earth

in #history6 years ago

Excellent article! I recall watching a video on Youtube recently about a similar war of extermination against...goats? I think? That had overpopulated islands owned at the time by Britain. It was similarly ineffective at first, as the goats eventually learned to hide from the helicopters.

So, they attached tracking devices to "Judas goats" who would then unwittingly lead the exterminators to where the other goats were hiding. They would kill them all except for the Judas goat, then follow it to the next hiding group of goats.

Sort:  

Thank you!

I'm dying "Judas Goat"! I definitely have to look it up, it's the kind of story to read when you're having a bad day!

Also, I love the description on your profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.55
ETH 3796.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52