You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today in History: First large German city falls in World War 2

in #history5 years ago (edited)

Aachen was definitely a town they had to hold to give the rest of the Germans to prepare for what was going to come afterwards. The three weeks or so was more valuable than the 20 odd thousand troops that surrendered. Great piece and a good read. I love war stuff. I have been all over France but haven't been into Holland and Germany yet for the war stuff. I just think there is too much to see in France and I just haven't been able to free up enough time yet.

Sort:  

I've never been to Europe but would love to go one day. One can only hope.

I too, love the war-history stuff. When a day comes by that and it is an momentous WW2 (in particular) date, i get excited because i know that I am going to learn some stuff as well.

You are in for a treat when you do go as there is just so much that has been turned into museums now. All of them are privately owned by the farmers and land owners and there is stuff everywhere. Every time I go there is more things added as farmers find more things. Loads of things were covered up and buried and they are now being dug up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69671.74
ETH 3835.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49