You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: High Tea Anyone? A Birds-eye View with a Bit of History!

in #history5 years ago

This was fabulous!! When my girls were very little, we started the tradition of High Tea, although we only did it on Wednesday. We went to the thrift shops and bought hats and gowns and we had a full dress up high tea every Wednesday.

OMG.

We had such fun. Glad you got to do it!!!!

!tip

Sort:  

Oh my goodness, that sounds so fun @dswigle. Although now that you mention it, my youngest daughter loooooved to look lovely like this. We bought a beautiful gown for her when she was young which she wore until it was so tattered I had to toss it. We had a tea party for her birthday in which all of the girls had to dress up, wearing hats and bring their favorite doll. I had heard about the High Tea but didn't know the history nor did I ever think about attending one. My friend loves them and attends them all over the country. She organized this and was so thrilled so many could attend. You would have loved the little tea sandwiches and tarts. It was quite a fun experience. I'm sure your daughters loved your Wednesday teas, dressing up and sharing goodies. (Did you dress up with them?) Love the memories don't we? Makes me smile to think about those days, perhaps we'll do it again with grand children!

I DID dress up! It would not have been quite as fun if it wasn't so! My mother came for a visit and she joined in too. It was sort of a lovely family thing. I can remember the girls and I would take great joy in finding old fashioned jewelry and hats and dresses too at the Church second hand shops, they seemed to have the best collections!

On my daughters 10th birthday, she had a birthday party (yours reminded me of that!) and all the girls came dressed up. It was so fun!! Then right after tea, a horse-drawn carriage came up to the house and took them all for a long ride.

Best Birthday EVER!

Thank you for reminding me of my own memories! How sweet they are!

A horse drawn carriage!!!! Wow, she'll remember that forever, what an amazing mom you are. Love it that grandmother joined in as well. These are wonderful memories I'm sure your girls cherish :) Beautiful @dswigle!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83