You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Tour Through the Past

in #history6 years ago (edited)

I think the vast majority of tourists will always go to the blockbuster stops, partially because they see the national narrative as more relevant to them. Even the art museum is too far away for them to see on walking tours--the tourists I've interacted with are always interested in it until I tell them where it is and how hard it is to get there on public transit (it's really a shame the subway under the parkway was never built).

However, I doubt it would be too hard to get schools to visit local sites, especially because many of the kids live nearby. 75 minutes is about the longest most of my school groups last before they're bored and tired of walking, so the geography still presents a problem. Ideally whoever develops the first tour, if it's successful, can then develop more tours in different areas. Buses are too expensive, and I think you get a much better experience of the neighborhood on foot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68648.42
ETH 3813.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48