You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Scottish Roots of Renowned Russian Writer Mikhail Lermontov

in #history6 years ago

What fun to discover all that @seanreilly and what a waste that both Pushkin and Lermontov died at a young age in duals.

Did any of the Learmonth’s of Fife remain in Scotland and produce a line of heirs there?

Sort:  

Yes - the Learmonth's were a clan with noble ties, and the name is well-spread all across the UK today. I believe George left Scotland because his older brother was heir to the family fortune.

Have you read much Russian literature? :)

Have you read much Russian literature?

No. I tried Dostoevsky's Crime and Punishment once and also Tolstoy's War and Peace but couldn't get on with either of them.

I loved the televised version of War and Peace though.

It's nothing to do with it being Russian. I'm the same with the Austin novels. The books drive me nuts because they are so slow but I love the televised versions. 😂

We also really enjoyed the BBC production of War & Peace. :)

I understand what you mean about reading, I've been sitting on a Dostoyevsky novel for well over a year now. 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80