Looking for Ghosts and History in the Woods

in #history6 years ago (edited)

rsz_img_20180509_233920.jpg

“Sorry to tell you that you may not have ghosts of pretty ladies and dapper plantation owners in handsome horse-drawn carriages rolling past your backyard every night, along with the quiet footsteps of Seminole moccasins, but that can be a bit of nuisance, sometimes. Too much giggling and laughing and horses whinnying and all that, you know.” My friend and local historian, John, wrote this in an email to me several years ago. I searched it out tonight, having been long lost in my inbox. He died last spring, and I have missed my chance to get from him all the secrets of the land that I live on. The couple miles surrounding where I live are entrenched in Florida history—the stuff I read about in school, but never related to, until now.

This email exchange began when I moved into this area, and I thought that my property lined up with the first road fit for traveling through this part of the country—Old Kings Road. The woods behind my house slope down to a cool, slow moving creek bed. I could visualize that land once having a dirt road cut through it. It was easy to imagine rickety old carriages traveling through the trees, barely visible and mindlessly moving without notice of the changes surrounding them, just ghostly wisps. However, it was not meant to be that I own a chunk of the remains of an ancient road, as John corrected me in the aforementioned email. I was off by a half a mile or so.

rsz_img_20180509_232124.jpg

Built in the 1770’s by hand through the wilderness, Old Kings Road was a tremendous undertaking. Financed by the government during Florida’s brief British period, it was likely constructed by slave labor. A quote from an article written by my friend states, “It required the removal of thousands of trees, roots, and millions of palmetto trunks”. I have attempted to remove a palmetto trunk—it is a job made for a gardener more ambitious than myself.

Old Kings Road might not sound that interesting to your average person. It was just a road after all, even if it did likely pre-date the British construction as a Native American trail. The fort that was attached to Old Kings Road is a bit more interesting, and its former location has been sitting under my nose for quite some time. Some big names in Florida history knew this fort well.

A fixture of Florida history, this iconic painting is of the Seminole leader Osceola. He was born a member of the Creek, but upon loss of their land, was forced to move to Florida and join the Seminole tribe as a child. In 1821 Florida became a part of the United States, and settlers were pushing farther south. They were encroaching on Seminole land, and after some military skirmishes and a treaty, the northern Seminole lands were seized. Tensions were mounting. A few Seminole chiefs agreed to sign away their land in exchange for land west of the Mississippi. Those that did not were officially the enemy of the state. In 1835, Osceola organized an ambush that jumpstarted the Second Seminole War.

In 1837, Osceola and his 95 followers were on their way to the fort, traveling no doubt on Old Kings Road, to discuss peace talks. Under a white flag, they were captured by the US army. It caused a national uproar, and tainted the commanding general’s reputation for life. Osceola was captured a mile from the fort so very near me, and held captive there before being shipped off to South Carolina.

rsz_img_20180509_232101.jpg

Today we made the walk down to the remaining little strip of Old Kings Road that is still passable in these parts, which leads to the old site of the fort. It looks unfriendly to a stranger with its dirt pathway more like a driveway than a public thoroughfare. Surrounding the road is the growth that must have looked very much the same 180 years ago. Scattered throughout is a mixture of short needle pine trees with their long bodies leaning diagonally, and wise old Live Oaks. Muscadine grape vines tangle around everything, making sure there is a connection between all species. The sun was getting low in the sky, casting gold light on everything. The Muscadines helped to filter out that gold light in all the darker spaces, where all the mystery to a woods hides. Somewhere in those shadows is some sleepy mammal, or a cold reptile, or maybe an arrowhead knocked back to the surface from a fallen tree. We found a large black and white striped vulture feather lying in the middle of our path.

rsz_img_20180509_232256.jpg

Rather abruptly, the dirt road ended in a round little clearing. Two historical markers acknowledge the existence of what was once a wooden fort composed of four buildings connected together in the shape of a square. I was a little disappointed, because somehow I was expecting to feel something in that abandoned place. When I didn’t know that the woods on my land was nothing but a creek bed for the last 200+ years, I could still imagine the activities that could have been going on there. But there, where there had been plenty of human activity and the makings of history, it was just desolate. The Seminole War ended soon after Osceola’s capture, and the fort was abandoned. It burned a few years later. I get the feeling that the place always had an empty, cold, desolate feel to it.

rsz_img_20180509_232228.jpg

The boy scratching mosquitoes at the imaginary old fort.

There is something a little heartbreaking at how we remember Osceola’s cause by a cement and a metal marker in a patch of dirt, and houses encroach even on this in every direction. My husband pointed out that now the deer are in the position of the Native Americans, as they watch their land eaten up by more and more new construction.

I failed to seize the day when my friend John the historian was still alive, and now I won’t ever have him as a wonderful tour guide. “Never put off until tomorrow what you can do today” is a hard-won life lesson for me. I’m going to see what I can pick up from the hints he left me. His energy is out there somewhere, mixed in with all these historical figures, just out of my grasp—a wisp of energy just beyond those trees.

Sort:  

hey you must try this they are offering free 30 days upvote service for limited time. i am using it for 2 weeks, They upvote my every new post Click here to see the offer

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T04:07:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 65.00/100.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

His energy is out there somewhere, mixed in with all these historical figures, just out of my grasp—a wisp of energy just beyond those trees.

How poignant. Landscapes are always full of those wisps of energy. I used to live on The Fosse Way in England, built by the Romans. You could still find shards of pottery and coins there amongst crunched Coke cans and thistles. On the Somerset levels when the mist licked around the winter bones of oaks I could imagine Romans marching, or perhaps further back, Arhurian knights. And on the way across the county, I could feel the wisps of my great grandparents travelling to church, to work, to the pub for a cider.

A beautifully written and felt imagining of your local landscape archaeology xx

How interesting! I would love to have a stint of living in such an ancient area, and finding those little artifacts. I know what you mean about feeling the presence of ancestors. I get that sensation when I visit their old houses, or touch their old quilts.

God willing tomorrow night I will have some free time to read through my feed. I saw your blog on self-forgiveness but haven't had time to fully read it yet. Sounds like an interesting topic.

The owls are making freakish sounds outside. I think they just said, Go to bed, chronically sleep deprived woman.

interesting and excellently written, like all your posts! Thank you, I upvote you!

Your city certainly is a beautiful and historical area. Even if you were off a bit on your King's road prediction, you are still pretty much walking in history all around there. Sounds, like you were very fortunate to have made the acquaintance of your friend. I am sure you are correct in that his energy is around there and perhaps closer than you know.

Yes, I do feel like I am walking around in history frequently in my area, even away from the historic district. I do love this place much better than Alligator Territory. It must feel strange for you to leave your area after so long. I wonder what title you give your hometown.

I am ready to move on. I hope everything comes together so we can. I do not have a special name for this town. Just Princeton or Ptown. It will always hold good memories. Now that my kids are adults it is time for a change. I like change. I am one of those people that would love to travel around in an rv and check out new places to stay every week. My husband does not love that idea like I do, lol. My job is what I will miss. I love my job and the people I work with. That will be the very hardest thing for me to give up.

What a blessing to love your job so much. That's nice you are not at all afraid of change - you just ride right off into the retirement sunset. I do not transition so effortlessly. I'm sure your kids must be a little sad at your leaving state.

They are. Especially, the youngest. I tell her she can always move to. That will be up to her. :)

Aww, I'd be like your youngest.

Ahahahaha you got me at "boy scratching mosquitos!"

Those little blood-suckers deserve their moment in the limelight for being so effectively annoying. They are good at what they do.

We're gonna spend all summer doing this...
AW362040_06.gif

Yep. My eyes might look like that while I'm doing it, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97