You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Chuck Wagon: A Spot of Comfort on the Trail.

in #history6 years ago

Nice glimpse into the chuck wagon and its importance. The food part of it was obvious, but I didn't know about all of the other things that would commonly be carried or stored there. I guess that's what would make it a prime target for all kinds of human varmints. :)

It's amazing how much planning it seems would go into those trips. You think about cowboys roughing it a lot, and compared to what we deal with they most certainly did, but they didn't go without some kind of preparation, and I imagine, the more veteran the team, the more they knew what to expect and to prepare for.

Sort:  

yes sir, prepare for those human varmits! lol. I like their code of justice if they caught someone stealing horses or cattle. no time wasted on lawyers.
they did plan the best they could but like I talked about in one of my posts it was the surprises that killed alot of them like lightning, drownings while crossing the rivers ..that was the big one because there were holes in the riverbed that they couldn't see and sometimes quicksand would take them down and quite a few were killed in stampedes or when they got thrown from a horse and hit their hit, some died from a simple cut that got infected or from pneumonia from exposure to the elements because they had no anti-biotics.
some were also killed by rustlers.

I'm not sure if I would like capital punishment for corporal offenses. Sounds a little too Old Testament. But I understand the idea. The less that a court has to be involved, and justice can be served, the better. When it's more about the paycheck or the reputation than it is about getting to the truth and starting the restitution process, then the whole system fails.

I'll have to try to get back to that post. I'm still behind since last week somehow and I'm afraid I'm not going to catch up. I'm usually behind coming back from taking Sunday off, anyway, but this last week I got behind before that. Probably trying to post a bunch at the end of the week. :)

I could see where surprises would bring about the demise of any of us. Especially being exposed to the elements most of the day. Now, we spend so much time in controlled environments that barring a major earthquake or storm, or some manmade disaster, we're not as likely to die from crossing rivers or lightning. Which is a good thing. :)

lol. yes sir..people don't think about the fact that there were NO bridges over rivers in the West and they were bad enough if it was dry but after a rain storm, man! and if it's a lightning storm we're inside, those guys had to stay with the cattle no matter what the condition.

talking about natural disasters and such, the Mormons are famous for being prepared, are you some level of prepper?

I'd say yes, but we could certainly do better. A lot of what we have for longer food storage is in freeze dried cans. The food is all right, and we open up a can here and there to try it out. I think were about 10 years into a 20-25 year shelf life.

Then, we have some freezer food and some other things that should last us well beyond a three day period.

The one thing we need to figure out is water. We have some storage barrels, we just haven't filled them up. Living in Oregon, you don't have to travel far to find water, so I've been lazier with that aspect than I should. But we do have the means to cook or sterilize, and so forth.

What about you? I find this to be common sense, given how many times I've been unemployed or under employed in my lifetime. Doesn't need to be a local disaster. It could be a personal one.

hey glenalbrethsen .. the thing about living in Oregon and water..you have rivers nearby or a lake?
we have two ponds and could probably stretch our food for 6 months.
It SHOULD be common sense but I don't think that people think that way for future events.

It should be common sense, and people should learn from what happens to others on the news. We recently had a water contamination problem with an area north of us. The problem was, the agency in charge of emergencies for the state sent an alert to everyone north and south of the area, most of which weren't affected. And didn't state what it was about, so we were left thinking for a while we had a terror alert going.

Well, thanks to social media, we were able to figure it out, but all the stores in our area were sold out of bottled water, and we heard that the stores north of us were, too, even though most of those folks buying water weren't affected. Then some turned around and tried to sell water at exorbitant prices.

I'd love to be on a piece of property with its own well (which I know can have its own issues and expenses), just because the well at least here is less likely to dry up than there is to be a water problem with the public water system, since they would be more of a target.

We've got two rivers really close by. They come together at some point up the road. There's a manmade lake not too far from here, and if worst came to worst, during the winter time we could probably get water from the runoff from our roof! :) Okay, maybe not that, but hey, it's an option.

so all you really need are some containers and a big Burkey water filter!
see you write a page and I write one sentence, that's why I'm not in your league!

I'm just trying to make everyone read. There's not enough reading going on in the world. Too much of everything else. :)

I think we have a filter of some kind for these barrels we have. I don't think they're Burkey though. I probably should check those out because the ones they came with I couldn't figure out where they were supposed to go or how they were supposed to work. On the lid, I think, but anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59236.59
ETH 2995.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73