Uncle Sam - where does that come from? Today was the day in History

in #history7 years ago

Uncle Sam created

Everyone around the world knows this expression when we talk about the USA, right? Today - September 7, 1813 the United States got officially nicknamed as Uncle Sam :-).

But why? The name is linked to Samuel Wilson who used to be a meat packer from New York. He supplied barrels of beef to the US Armed Forces during the War of 1812. To ship them he stamped the barrels with “U.S.” for United States. The soldiers used to refer to the grub as “Uncle Sam’s." - a local newspaper picked up the story, name was born, spread and is still in all our minds. Great storytelling still valid today from 1813!

Sort:  

curious data, thanks for sharing

How we miss some things. I never knew the history behind Uncle Sam or did I even try to find out. I was just content in knowing what Uncle Sam means. Thanks for this, another reason I prefer steemit to other platforms.

Yes, we in Indonesia also dub the United States as the land of uncle sam

sejarah yang sangat panjang untuk sebuah julukan. nice to meet you

Nice lesson of history. I still remember Uncle Sam being spammed on every board and I had no clue where it really came from hah :P

a good post, which I know he used to sign up as a soldier volunteer for his country and finally he stopped and opened a butcher shop and supplied meat for the united American soldiers

Hi @history-trail

Thanks for sharing,

I never knew of that. This is the first time i'm hearing about this.
I'm now following you
@kingsley-clement

In my city we have a church with a ridiculous and scary unclesamish version of Jesus Christ. Yes, that's how desperate they are about losing followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61