Frankie's Recovery And The Lasting Impact Of The Gunfight

in #history5 years ago (edited)

This photo has nothing to do with the post, I forgot to put in any images so this is another view in the Hill Country where Frankie grew up:

source

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We're in a series about one of the top Texas Rangers to ever wear the badge, the great Frank Hamer, who was brought out of retirement to take down Bonnie and Clyde.

In the last post Frankie had gotten into a gunfight with a crazy old farmer by the name of McSween, been shot with a shotgun, and the doctor pronounced that he'd lost too much blood to survive.

Today's story

So everyone thought he was a goner and about the kick the bucket but that didn't worry Frankie none because he already knew he would be fine. lol.

Here's what he said later..."I knew he was wrong(the doctor). I knew I was going to make it, but I couldn't say it, because I was so far gone I couldn't talk. I could hear, but I couldn't speak. But, you see, I had talked to the Old Master about it, and I knew I was going to get well."

His family was all afret and already grieving but he was in perfect peace because God told him he was gonna be fine! I'm sure it was just a few days before he was able to tell them.

Wow, we need more Godly lawmen who operate in the integrity and justice of the Gospel and who can actually hear from God. I'm sure we still have some out there, probably in small towns.

A profound influence

There were a few things that affected Frankie for the rest of his life from this shootout. One of them was a lifelong affinity for Black folk because of the black field hand who raced off to get the doctor even though he didn't know the Hamers.

Frankie hadn't really even been around many blacks and probably didn't know any because there weren't many in West Texas.

In the East there was a great deal of discrimination and prejudice, unfortunately Texas was a slave state before the Civil War so there was deep seated feelings against blacks.

Frankie said this about the black field hand: "A colored man was the best friend I ever had in my life. That colored man caused me to be living today."

He never forgot that act of kindness to him and in his career he came to the aid of blacks time and time again.

Other lessons learned

This shootout made Frankie realize that even in the face of gunfire and being critically wounded himself he could return fire and stay calm. And he found that he could take a shotgun blast that would have killed off a lesser man.

It also gave him an even deeper disgust and loathing of bullies and criminals. He hated bullies with a passion!

For some reason McSween was never even charged with the shooting. He recovered from his gunshot, sold his farm and moved to another town where he died 5 years later of natural causes. Good riddance to that dirtbag.

a0esw215rr.png

Sounds like Frank is being molded into Law Enforcement material instead of the ministry doesn't it? His story continues in the next post.

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

PS- I've been finding more cool wire sculptures. Check this one out:

enmhxh73ib.jpg
source

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Evenin’ Cowboy! And a good evening it is with our hydro finally back on. We’ve survived the hurricane. I will write a post about it.

Frank must have been strong to survive. I’m glad he appreciated his colored friend.

Good to hear you didn't get blown away! I've checked a time or two to see if you were posting yet.

Thanks Melinda! 💕 I think Dorian hit harder than anticipated. It was a long 72 hrs without hydro and some people are still without it.

Hope things get back to normal there soon. I was worried about you and watching the weather. It looked bad.

Howdy redheadpei! you're back! And you survived! lol. What were you going without?

We didn’t have any electricity for 72 hrs as trees fell across the power lines in the hurricane winds. Without hydroelectricity we couldn’t get water pumped from the well, put the lights on or use the Internet. Even the phone was down.

Oh I see! Wow, that's a long time to go without. Did you lose food that was in the freezer or fridge? Were you guys prepared for such a thing?

Thanks for sharing!

Howdy spellmaker! thanks for reading!

I always read the stories, but I'm always watching your images, the wire sculpture is very attractive

Howdy truelovemom! Thank you for reading!

Beautiful colors in the picture! Like it a lot!

Howdy there kiaromauw! Thanks so much, where do you live?

I'm surprised his family didn't go after that guy. You know, with all the "Fussin' and Fightin' and Feudin'" going on at the time :-)

I'm really surprised too, that's the normal reaction you would expect, especially since Frankie was only 16 years old. But for some reason they didn't. McSween wasn't even arrested.

Hey janton, love the photo the violet flowers are gorgeous. Good save! All the hours that go into our posts ...... my history posts and writing my book is all I do these days, hahaha ... But I love it.

Oh that's right, your book, how is that coming along?

Frankie is a stubborn SOB, for sure! I love it!

lol! Too stubborn to die! yeah, he's a tough kid even at that point in his life.

This makes me queasy just thinking about it. Yuck. That wound must have been hell to recover from. I suppose it was good sense that farmer sold his farm and got out, with that hanging over him.

Howdy ginnyannette! yeah, the buckshot was still in him and he said he'd rather have it there than to have it dug out of him so he was in excruciating pain for quite awhile and back then of course they didn't have the strong pain medication available. They didn't even have blood available for transfusions, that's why the doc said he wouldn't make it.
Sorry, I didn't mean to make anyone queasy! There's a story in tomorrow's post that's alot worse though. lol.

Howdy Jonboy. The 'cape' is a bit too dramatic, but otherwise, the wire mesh sculpture is a piece of great work. 😊

I thought it was very interesting, more like regular sculpture work as opposed to creating something out of thousands of tiny wires. But both methods would be hard I think!

You got a 13.43% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @janton!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current min bid is 2 SBD and max bid is 10 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM. Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy ocdb, thanks for helping so many people!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01