Sort:  

Actually, the hay box was their idea.... :)

ok, is there any way that you know of to improve it?
also, are you still watching that couple on youtube that are off grid?
the man looks like he's Amish? anyway, how do they stay cool without
air conditioning or do they have something like it?

I am thinking that a couple of hot rocks would add thermal mass, increasing the length of cook.

Off grid with Doug and Stacy; I love to watch them! They stay cool by getting used to the heat. They have a 100 year old ice block type frig, and they keep cool drinks in there (kombucha and fermented lemonaid). They have a pond they can swim in, but I haven't seen them do that.

There is a cooling system called an Earth Battery, that uses underground pipes to run air through to cool that air.

I understand that Monticello was designed by Tomas Jefferson; to include this type of cooling. :)

smithlabs, do they use that Earth Battery in their house?

Very interesting about Thomas Jefferson's home!

No, I don' think they do, but I intend to use it my self. TJ was IMPRESSIVE; a real renaissance MAN! I would like to talk with him, for a few weeks! :)

smithlabs...he was an intellectual giant to be sure. well sir, if he was a Christian then someday you WILL be able to talk to him for weeks!

Well he was a strong Christian so we will get to talk! :D
He was ahead of his time, for sure.

yeah like Centuries ahead of his time? people try to say that he was an atheist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58773.92
ETH 2988.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74