You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Bill Hickok: His Legend Begins

in #history6 years ago (edited)

Shooting at a hundred yards would of been difficult. The bullet drop on a 44 like that, plus the thickness of the blade would nearly hide a oyster tin.

He also shot Colt 1851's. Those were a smaller caliber, but had more steel in the side walls of the chambers. A little extra powder behind a lighter bullet has it shoot a little flatter and has a higher muzzle velocity.

I have seen the .36 penetrate sheet steel that the .44 couldn't.

The old Colts had a increasing rifling twist as it neared the muzzle. Replicas don't have that particular feature, so it is difficult to achieve 'old time' accuracy with constant rifling.

Excellent write up!

Sort:  

haha! howdy there joesal! yes I know the blade would cover up the target but I didn't get into the details because most people would be lost.
But I had no idea about the original's rifling! how'd you know that? lol.

Yes he carried the pair of Navy .36's later and I'll talk a little about them but not in detail.
I haven't seen you before, wherebouts in Texas are you?
I really like that you're covering the Nicaragua situation. do you know of
cecicastor?
thanks so much for your comment and excellent imput! expert imput it sounds like! I'll go to you for gun info. lol.

I'm just south west of Sandia, out in the brush lands. Pistol work is a newer venture, i was always more a rifle guy until the last few years.

I started with the .44 as it was close to a .45 ACP. It wasn't long before i tested the .36 to see what the differences were.

The .36 is a amazing gun, even in the replica form. Depending on the powder charge it could be loaded light as a 380 or heavy to just under 38 special.

I wasn't able to get the replicas to hit a six inch target at 50 yards. (If they did hit it was more by accident than skill)

That's when i really researched the rifling specs on the original Colts and found the increased twist rates that would have spun up the bullet to higher revolutions.

This may be one of the reasons a 75 yard shot seems impossible with modern day replicas.

I don't cover Nicaragua much, just what i can find. Mainstream is really attempting to downplay it. I hope lady castor and all our friends to the south have a better future.

howdy back sir joesal! wow I had to look up Sandia, down by Corpus Christi, when you said brush lands I thought you were talking about more desert in the West but I'm not familiar with what type of geography brush land is, I thought it would be mostly woods down there but I've never been to Corpus Christi.

Anyway so I thought you were talking book knowledge but you actually bought these old black powder guns and shoot them! wow. hey that could be some interesting posts!

yeah Nicarargua...why would the mainstream media want to downplay it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.84
ETH 3310.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92