Coloring old 1919 High School Graduation PhotosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #history6 years ago (edited)

2.jpg

This is is the tale of Bernard L. Cruise..... Just kidding. I don't actually have that much information on him. I wish I did. But I'll give you the brief information that I have.

I have done this photo restoration and smudge picture for Bernard's Grandaughter, Sarah Rose. Though Sarah Rose is my sister's mother in law, she also plays a big part in my life as well and is family through and through. Anyways, Sarah and most everyone on my Facebook know that I like to restore old photos so she sent me this beauty. :)

1.jpg

Bernard L. Cruise in his highschool graduation photo taken around 1919 or so.

Here is what Sarah had to tell me about him.

"He graduated from Hebron High School (Roman Catholic). Then he taught school for a year and then attended the United States Naval Academy for a year. Then they kicked him out because he was color blind. But he transferred to another college and graduated." - Sarah Rose

I don't know about you guys but I'm picking up a friendly vibe from Bernard. He looks like a good dude. And good on him for not letting being kicked out hold him back. He kept on keepin' on.

According to Cori, Sarah's sister, Bernard had a great laugh. "He used to make up bedtime stories with an ongoing character called the wiffinpoof. He also let me follow him around his gorgeous lawn and garden and help him." Cori went on to say, "He carried me up and down the stairs after my open heart surgery."

It sounds like he was a very loving grandfather. :)

Now you might wonder, why should we care about this guys graduation photo from the early 1900's? Personally, I'm a big fan of people's stories. Especially family history. We hear so much about the same famous people over and over again. There are a million and one books about Elvis. There are people lining up to tell stories about famous people. And I totally get it. Especially if the person made a huge contribution to society. But I want to be in the crowd that talks about people we would otherwise not get a chance to hear about. Even though their contribution is smaller than that of a well known historical figures, they helped society in some form or another. And I am fascinated by the idea that at one point in time Bernard was the main character of his story.

Though I am an amateur at photo restoration/manipulation, coloring the ancestors of my friends and family is my little way of helping preserve history. It's just a drop of water in an ocean of information. But for me, and Sarah Rose, it's important. Maybe it is to you too. :)

3.jpg

Sort:  

Props to you for doing something different and meaningful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60