You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Butch and Sundance. Harry: Blame it on the Weather

in #history5 years ago

That is really something! I never heard of this "Great Die-Off" winter, that is truly remarkable. I can't imagine much could have survived through those kinds of storms! Great photos you found for this post - I love the trains too. Good job!

Sort:  

thank you sir Keith, I really appreciate that. I think you're one of the few who liked it but I sure thought it was interesting, both the fact that probably thousands died, millions of livestock died. And then I thought about how they didn't have modern insulation in buildings, terrible windows if they have glass at all! wow.
Then all that man power to clear the railroad tracks!

The temperatures you mention are just crazy - I wouldn't expect that unless you went to the south pole! Hundred-foot snow drifts? Wow! When I was very young my family lived for one year in St. John's, Newfoundland. They can get very serious snowfall. The winter we lived there, snow drifts almost covered the telephone poles. You would see two feet of pole sticking out the top of a snow drift. I believe the city closed for a week. The first floor of the house we lived in was completely buried and you could not open a door. My uncle had to lean out a second-floor window and sweep or shovel snow away from the front door - then jump down into the snow which was still chin-deep and tunnel out to the road. As a child I loved it!

wow! haha! that's totally wild. I remember as a kid getting snowed in during blizzards in Kansas and it would be many days before we could go anywhere but that's days, not months! but yeah as a kid that was a great time!

Snow can be fun, but I'm happy it doesn't come here often. The last serious snowfall in Victoria is still referred to as the Blizzard of '96. Twenty-two years ago. I doubt it was more than three feet but it completely shut down the city for quite a while. Apparently, the city keeps TWO snow plows in working condition for a city of 350,000 people. If a blizzard ever came back here we'd be in real trouble I guess! :-)

haha! oh man, 2 snowplows for a city that size, amazing. lol. Yeah if you ever have another blizzard those 2 plows couldn't keep up, maybe they could keep the main road and to the hospital and police station open. If you have supplies it might be kinda fun to get snowed in, I used to love that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91