British History & Nostalgia Videos

in #history6 years ago (edited)

I came across a series of interesting videos called Look at Life. I'm of British heritage. My grandfather and grandmother are from Kent, England. They came to Canada in their 20s and made the trip across Eastern Canada.

They bought a Volkswagen Beetle in Halifax, Novascotia. It was their first ever car so my grandfather had to teach himself how to drive. Eventually they made it to Ontario where they settled down, my grandfather worked at Shell Oil company, and even built his own house at one point.

In my generation the Canadian government has done a lot to emphasize that Canada is not British. It is a multi-culutral nation. So often the cultures that aren't British are emphasized while the British heritage, traditions, and cultures are ignored.

I like watching old videos like these and imagining what it was like to be part of the British Empire in my grandfather's days. To be part of the excitement of the coming new world. Here is a video about immigration to another British colony, Australia.

I had a chance to travel to Australia with my best friend, a fellow explorer and also of British heritage. It's a lot more British than Canada. An amazing country and even today has tons of unexplored (or hardly explored) areas.

I'd like to travel to all the British colonies to explore the history, culture, and geography. Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe), South Africa, New Zealand, Australia, and all the Caribbean islands.

The strangest thing about British culture is that our language has become a sort of "neutral language of global trade and culture". We are the medium through which all other cultures are communicating and contributing to. As part of this we inevitably have our own story and culture eroded.

It's not a horrible thing since the future has so much opportunity and happy times. That said I'll always remember I'm British ... yes technically I'm Canadian. But I view myself as a brother to those in Australia who are also the grandchildren of British colonists.

The sausage rolls and meat pies of Australia make my mouth water and remind me of the cooking of my now passed grandmother. Of course I welcome and can be friends with all the new comers to Canada. There is enough room in this world for all of us to live and prosper.

My heart and heritage will always be British 🇬🇧 ❤ 🚢

1298004623612_ORIGINAL.jpg

1950, Downtown intersection of Dundas & Richmond in my hometown London, Canada (source).

Sort:  

Cool! I don't usually self promote, but check out my newest post on memory and nostalgia, I am going to post a few entries on various films that deal with nostalgia and British dealing with the legacy of empire, you might find that interesting.

Great, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'm following and will check out your posts related to Britain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62