Our Own Way: Vz 61

in #history6 years ago (edited)

It’s been a while, but I’m back with my series on Czech guns. This week, we are covering one of the most famous:

The Vz 61


What makes this gun interesting is that it is one of the few genuine purpose-built machine pistols. Many machine pistols throughout the world began life as semi-autos and were later changed to be automatic (example: Beretta 93R) or were scaled down machine guns (micro Uzi). The Vz 61, known more commonly as the Skorpion, stands out not because of its mechanics, but because of its compact and functional design.

Purpose and Design Philosophy

This gun was made to arms soldiers in tight spaces. For armored vehicle crews, paratroopers, and covert operations, large power in a small package is well received. To accomplish this aim, a few novel solutions were implemented.

1: Like the CZ 25 and Uzi, this gun uses a telescoping bolt that envelops the barrel inside the receiver. This reduces overall length as seen in the below diagram. Blue is the barrel and green is the bolt.

2: This has a folding metal stock whereas other machine pistols opt for a hybrid holster/stock that attaches like the Schnellfeuer’s (below). This is a bulky and fragile attachment and having a over-folding stock that clips into the front sight wings provided a better option.

Vs

3: This uses the 32 ACP cartridge (known as 7.65mm Browning in Europe). This is a small, self defense cartridge and not commonly seen in military weapons post 1920. It however provides some meaningful benefits. It is compact and decently well suited for the machine pistol concept because of its low chamber pressure. It is also semi rimmed which means that the magazine needs to curve which decreases the overall magazine length.

4: The rate reduction device is a completely unique solution to what would otherwise be an unmanageable fire rate. This is accomplished with a small latch that catches the bolt after ever shot. The latch is hooked to a counter-weighted rod inside the grip which releases the bolt after its travel cycle. This redistributes weight counter to the recoil and cuts the rate of fire from ~1000 rounds per minute for ~850. This makes the automatic fire more gentle on the shooter and it is easier to keep the gun on target during prolonged fire.
For more information on the mechanics, check out the video Ian from Forgotten Weapons did:

Military History

This gun was adopted by many warsaw states and was used by the KGB where the Stechkin proved too large for the job. This was also adopted by a few middle eastern and north african states. Though retired in the Czech Republic, it still sees use in Pakistan, North Korea, Georgia, and Indonesia. Around 200,000 were produced in its lifetime.

Criminal History

The story of this gun is far from untainted. The concealable machine gun platform is the friend of the terrorist worldwide. These organizations range from the IRA, INLA in Ireland, the Red Brigade (an Italian Marxist group), and the Gang de Roubaix in the 90’s. In 2017, around 50 illegally reactivated Skorpions from the Serbian commercial market were allegedly recovered by Swedish police.

Thank you for your time and I hope you learned something new about the Skorpion machine pistol.


all photos used from wikimedia under CC-BY license

--@roofcore

Sort:  

Shit round, too high a cyclic rate (even with the reducer), but still a super cool gun with a lot of history.

the round was already in heavy use in their police and military. For 60's comblock its not too terrible really. NK used it through the 70's and possibly still to this day. The rate is obscene on paper for sure. Thank you for engaging, I really appreciate it. Feel free to stick around, Ill have more posts like this coming

Great review buddy, definitely needing some off these to add to my collection lol! Keep it up. Love the information sharing

Thanks man, I appreciate it. I'm finishing up a post about the Thompson's history and researching the development tract of British smgs for a future discussion so I hope I'll see you there!

Always looking for your gun content!

nice blog i like guns !

thanks man! I'm glad you liked it and I gave you a follow. I might be covering some French and British guns development in the future as well so if you'd like, feel free to follow for more.

Hey man, you amazed me when you mentioned Yugoslavia, respect! Interesting you know about it, great post man, you definitely earned another follower. Thanks for sharing :) Steem on!

I appreciate that you enjoyed it! I really love the history behind this stuff that never really gets looked at at all and that is a shame. See you around and I gave you a follow. What is the gun scene in Slovenia like? Arex is based out of there and they make really nice pistols.

Stuff are banned, illeagal etc but do know about scorpions and other than yugoslavian, also russian and german weaponary, was in several museums and was always into history. :) interestign stuff, but definitely not an expert on weapons heh

I gotcha. I am far from an expert either, but that's why I'm learning and I might as well share the knowledge while I'm at it.

That's sweet, what is the magazine capacity? were any imported into the US?

Came with 10 and 20 rnd mags. Very few if any originals are in the US as transferable MG's?? You can get an original parts kit, semi-auto receiver and build a faithful representation of it (as an SBR or pistol). Czechpoint makes new ones in 9mm Para, 9mm Mak, .380, and 32 ACP so you can get access should you want to

sadly I don't live in a free state

I know the feel. I grew up in NY and go to school in MD. I'm really thinking of building a STEN mk 2 or 3 from a parts kit since it's not an assault weapon in any state as long as you use a 16'' barrel

does classic firearms have a kit right now?

not the vz. https://www.apexgunparts.com/parts-kits.html has a bunch of different sten options. Don't get a mk 5 and choose one w/o mag. You can get a legal 10rnd sten mag. Receiver tube and internal semiauto parts from http://indianapolisordnance.com/products.html

@roofcore, I love history so this series is fascinating!

I'm glad you like it. I am covering one more Czech gun, then I'll be looking for another country to feature. Any country you'd like to see? I am thinking France or England next, unless you have a more interesting recommendation?

Would it be bad if I get this for myself?? Though I don't have a license yet. Just wanna have it as one of my toys😀😀

dude I want one so badly. There are new production semi-auto ones out there so its totally do-able. Let me know if you do dude!

Gladly, I'm in 😀😀🙌🙌

Fantastic niche. Great post. Thank you for the post.

@stevenmosoes

Awesome! thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29