You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Learned from Two Pulitzer Prize Winning Historians

in #history6 years ago

Well written!

Changing one's mind is important. I like to think I'm open to change in most of my beliefs, but the more I understand about something the less likely I am to change my mind.

Bill Nye and Ken Hamm's debate was a great example of this. The moderator asked what it would take for either to change his mind about the age of the Earth. Bill's response was a long one, explaining that they'd have to disprove plate tectonics, disprove the leading theories behind how light works, how gravity works, etc etc.

Ken Hamm said nothing could ever possibly change his mind because it was written in the Bible.

One of these men will be on the forefront of scientific education, and the other will go down in history as a laughing stock.

But now that you ask, I can't actually remember the last time I changed my mind on something. Maybe I should change that...

Sort:  

I couldn't agree more. That debate was crazy to watch. When people are presented with different opinions, most times they double down on their beliefs.

On a side note, I like Bill Nye...but his Netflix show...cringe worthy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69771.68
ETH 3782.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46