The Small Village of Nonsan city and The Sacrificed in Korean War

in #history7 years ago

20170929

I’d like to visit the biggest stone Buddha statue in Korea which is near my office.

I had planned to visit there for long time ago, but strangely enough it was not easy to visit a nearby place.
I think you would have experienced same case of me.

It was one and half years ago when I tried to visit the statue at first.

As entering into the small village of Nonsan city where the temple was, I could see a monument.

When getting closer to the monument, I acknowledged this monument for the sacrificed during the Korean War.

It was surprising for me that more than 1,000 people had been killed in this small village.

The names of the sacrificed were engraved on the back of the monument.

Next to the monument, there was a kind of eulogy for the
sacrificed.

Before looking at this stone, I didn’t think this place was a battle field.
I saw a big stone and I could find the traces of gun fire.

Alas, someone would’ve been killed in this place.
Korea is small country.
But whenever I have travelled, there were no place which had no sad story.

Sort:  

Nice place...sad to know about the death of so many people. They will be remembered forever.

it is very true, @slowwalker, that things that are close to home and familiar are often taken for granted or overlooked.

You went to see a Buddhist statue and discovered instead a war memorial.

Korea is a small country that has sacrificed so much. When people talk about war, they list casualties, but when you stop to visit the places where killings occurred, you see only tragedy.

Buddha condemned killing or harming any living being but we haven't progressed far in the practice of mindfulness.

The loss of even one life should be a horror, let alone the loss of thousands.

I don't know if the majority of humanity will ever rise to the standard of respect for life, but I do know that hatred and prejudice distort peoples' minds and prevent them from seeing the truth.

As one poet said, human kind cannot bear very much reality.

A sad but profound meditation today, my friend.

Always give us the best you really deserve all this and more greetings to you

It is sad to kill each other.
Which profit is bigger than the life?

Thank you for the post..

Fantastic photography! I hope to see more from you.

Love this place, wanna be there soon, love korea so much

Very touching. My condolences for all those killed. So sad what you wrote "whenever I travelled, there was no place which had no sad story."

May Peace come to Korea forever.

Nice Place and good photography!!

Hello my friend!))) I will learn the history of your country with great pleasure!))) I'm very interested in traveling around your country, thanks to your stories)))

Thank you so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77