You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When I was a boy: Part two (My father's memories as a boy living through World War Two)

in #history6 years ago

Wow, that's intense. I haven't read such a personal account of the realities of the war for quite some time. It sounds like he had a lot of resiliency in him to not let the situations discourage him. Man, hearing about wars makes me really hope that we can avoid them, rather than seek them out. Sadly, even in this day and age, it seems we're constantly at war with someone, sometimes even ourselves.

Sort:  

Knowing my dad as I do I can imagine him as a little guy helping out the soldiers and in doing so his family also. He was always a hard worker and cared deeply about others.

Yes, war has been a constant since humans arrived and despite all the anti-war sentiment we still manage to get ourselves into more of them. What is it about the human nature that permits us to do so? Greed? Envy? Hate? I know not.

You mention the war within also. That can be just as bad right? The conflict within. Hmm, could be a post there. Would love to see your views.

I think there are a lot of reasons and justifications that people use for war. All of them cause great loss for most people involved.

I'm glad you picked up on the double meaning of the last part. I meant that a country can attack it's own citizens and that we have wars within ourselves. Both are things of which to be aware. I'm already working on a post that touches on the topic of the war within. It's not done yet, but I should post it within a few days, depending on how long I take to get back to it.

Looking forward to that post. We all battle inside ourselves...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69865.26
ETH 3687.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25