You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Chuck Wagon: A Spot of Comfort on the Trail.

in #history6 years ago

I didn't realize that the cowboys didn't carry their guns all the time. It makes sense though. No sense starting an accidental stampede.

I also didn't know they carried the firewood under the wagon. Or drove the chuck wagon ahead of the herd. Good things to know.

I don't have any confederate money. I don't think the south is going to rise again either.

Sort:  

haha! Texas is rising! we can carry the rest if they want to come along.
yeah the Check wagons carried wood but it was also the job of the Drovers to keep an eye out for dry wood pieces and such and bring them back with them when they changed horses, and to split the wood into small pieces for Cookie.

does anyone in your group collect bills that you've heard of? Confederate bills are very interesting but I don't have any. they take alot more care than coins obviously.

oh, the lead rider whose job it was to find water and the best route was always armed. he was a couple miles ahead.

Being a driver just sounds like a lot of dangerous work. I just liked camping. :)

I'm sure there are some who collect bills too, but a majority are just into collecting silver and gold. I've seen some platinum and copper, but not much other than that.

howdy today Blondie! good to hear from you. hey I don't even like camping!

yeah does anyone collect platinum and is it very expensive and do they make platinum coins?

I like being home too. It's nice to have the comforts of home, but it's fun to get out into nature sometimes.

Some people collect platinum and palladium. They're actually not as expensive as gold. They make coins and/or bars of both. They're not as common, but they're out there!

so Blondie, if they aren't as common, shouldn't they be a very sought after metal?

Sorry, I meant that the people who collect the coins aren't as common. Also the coins aren't as common either. I can't speak to the relative availability of the metal they're made of though. I'm not sure how common the metal is as I've never really looked into it. I stick with silver for the most part.

Blondie...don't you think you should expand your horizons a little bit into the other metals so as to be an authority figure and inspiration to young Numismatists or whatever they're called?
hey, did you like the looks of that Calf's Head Soup? lol!

I have started expanding into other metals. I did that post on getting some gold https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@themanwithnoname/gold-of-the-day-1
and I have a copper round that I got from one of the other steemsilvergold guys.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@themanwithnoname/silver-of-the-day-17-unboxing-2

Yes, I read that one and I wasn't sure if my wife would actually want to eat that with me. I'm also not sure that we have a pot big enough to hold a cow's head... even if it is just a little cow. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72