No Penguins in the Arctic BUT they did try once

in #history6 years ago

Penguins are social animals. In order for them to breed they do in fact need a large social congregation. Also, there are no penguins in the Arctic. HOWEVER, it is not well known that back in 1911 they attempted to colonize the northern hemisphere with penguins. In Norway to be exact and it did not work for 2 reasons.

  1. They did not transport enough penguins to the location in order to establish a large enough colony for them to socially congregate efficiently so they could successfully breed.
  2. Nobody told the Norwegians they were doing this and when penguins started to wander into the small towns in the north it freaked out the locals. They believed they were the boogeymen - so, they did what most humans do if they do not understand something - they feared it and killed it.

They literally killed them all...


IMG_2721.jpg

A Gentoo and Adelie penguin just chilling on an ice berg.
Click on image to view full size.*


Quite a random story to post but always fascinating to hear such things of our history. So, there are no penguins in the Arctic, just as there are no Polar bears in Antarctica. Fingers crossed they never attempt to colonize Polar bears in Antarctica. It wouldn't end well for penguins or the seal population to say the least.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

I never heard of this before ... googling a bit, I found http://sorpolen2011.npolar.no/no/visste-du-at/2011-12-05-det-har-bodd-pingviner-i-lofoten.html - but this was in 1936. The last penguin was observed in 1947 - and yes, the article also tells about one penguin that was killed by a farmer because she suspected it to be something sinister.

In the real arctic - like Svalbard/Spitsbergen, the penguins wouldn't have a chance, they'd be eaten up by polar bears.

While there are no penguins in the far north, we do have the puffins.

(I've been living in puffin land most of my life, yet I didn't get to see one until I bought a sail boat at grown-up age. I was astonished - those creatures, I thought they lived much further north and much further out in the sea, but there were lots and lots of them just some 15-30 nautical miles from home!)

Is incredible! The penguin on the left side of the picture seems to express sadness for what happened to them in the Arctic. Congratulations.

I really love your photos @thomasjmitchell. I must, because this is the 3rd Upvote I've done for you. LOL Your work is Outstanding. I've always wanted to capture beautiful animals like you have. Well Done

oh wow! Thanks for support and really kind words. I shall do my best to keep them coming

Please do, I want to see more, and you bare very welcome. I keep wanting to take photo's with my Iphone.. But my husband does professional video and he says is not the same thing.. lol

dang thats messed up

Hi @thomasjmitchell!

I'm happy to include this article for my “CARE TO READ” CROSSWORD PUZZLE NO. 15.

Thank you for creating such awesome content!

Probably not very good, birds that eats only fish tends to taste a bit ... fishy.

like chicken

Very good post ... I follow you and I support you with my vote, I invite you to see my blog you may be interested in something. Thank you.

That was an interesting fun fact. Stay on Steemit and you will learn something new. I had to click into the photo to realize that it was not a painting.

I always wonder how the penguins bear the bad weather. Do not you think about emigration and leaving this frost?

They are very fatty creatures, so the cold doesn't affect them that much. Besides, to keep warmer they are huddling together.

Some of the most charismatic animals that we find in the animal world are animals with a lot of graces.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09