American Civil War Letters - January 31, 1864 - A Psalm, Generosity in Prayer, a Hard Death, the Price of Wood

in #history7 years ago

If you find any poor fellow who has no friends to care for him, give my love to him. I can love him without robbing you.


Marcia's strength and generosity really show through as she continues to find her voice as a letter-writer.

We get a harrowing report of neighbor Addie's death, as well.


Springfield Jan 31, 1864

My Dear Husband

I have been reading the 91st Psalm. It seems as though I could make the sentiment my own. The 2nd verse is mine. "In Him will I trust." The 3rd and following I apply to you. The reason is given in the 9th. And may the last verse prove true of you. The last, I consider the important clause. The first, desirable.

If you find any poor fellow who has no friends to care for him, give my love to him. I can love him without robbing you. Tell him I shall be glad to remember him in my prayers. I think such are to be pitied.

Feb 1st

The funeral of Addie has been today. Aunt Theoda came in after the services were through. She staid with aunt Hawkins last night. Poor aunt H is all worn out. She was crazy yesterday and did not know any thing or remember anything but she is calm and natural today. I am afraid we shall lose her.

Addie suffered dreadfully so that aunt could not stay in the room. She talked with them all, and bid them good by. She wanted Harriet E and Nancy, it should promise to go to the Lord now and meet her again, and they did. She told Barney there was a God, and he must go to meeting and bring up his children to go with him.

She was conscious to the last, and knew all her suffering. Mrs Burke said her lips moved in prayer all the time, and sometimes she could understand the words.

I want you to tell me particularly how you do. I hope you do not have to do guard duty or anything to expose your health more than you are able to bear.

Feb 2

My Dear Husband

How long it seems since I have heard from you, but I suppose I must be patient. I want you to tell me what time in the week I must write, and how long it takes for a letter to go.

How I want to know how you are. You must tell me just as you are, for if you are sick it will be best for me to know at first, just as it is. Do not keep it from me.

My wood will cost me more than we thought. Mr Knight has not engaged the wood, and I was afraid to wait. I went to Geo. Haywood, asked him if I could get my wood of him. He said he thought he could get it for me, so he watched for me and took a very good load for four dollars up to me, but the man would not draw any more for that price. He would draw all split wood for five. Mr H. said that wood was rising and he did not know as I should have a better chance. He had no deal with the man, but he knew he would bring me good wood and good measure, so I took the one cord, 4 dollar, and engaged 8 of the 5 dollar so that 9 cords worked up will cost 53 dollars. Did I do right?

"May the Lord preserve you," is the prayer of your affectionate and loving wife,

Marcia S Grennell


This is a transcription of a letter that my great-great-great grandmother sent to her husband during his service in the American Civil War. It was written with minimal punctuation, so I have made regular edits for readability while keeping the content of the letter as close to the source as possible.
Where archaic and mis-spellings do not hinder understanding, I have transcribed them as written.
You can click on the original letters to see a high resolution scan for comparison.
I have dozens of letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell to her husband Abel from this period, and will continue to share them as time and interest permit. The letters make for fascinating reading, and provide an intimate look into domestic life at the time of this conflict.

CLICK HERE to read more letters from Marcia Spencer Grinnell and her family during the civil war. I'll be sorting the links by date as I add them.

Or CLICK HERE for a complete catalog of my work on Steemit, so far.

Sort:  

Wow. You have the letter? It is amazing, my friend. You keep to save it. The ketrer is a part of the biggest history of the world. I upvoted and reblog. Thanks

Yes, I've got a collection of these letters - about 70. I've been transcribing and posting them once a day. I just finished scanning the lot, so now I can post in order by date.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71443.06
ETH 3660.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73