You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Belle Starr Saga: Chaos At Home

in #history5 years ago

Oh my goodness! She had a very hard life. I sat down and read the past six days of posts and am just stunned. There is history of her all over Oklahoma and Arkansas. My family homesteaded the land Devil's Den State Park is on and there have been a few family stories about seeing her in the Fort Smith area and such. Not sure if any of it is true, you know how family stories go.

Thanks for such a good series.
Ren

Sort:  

howdy again Ren! oh that is so interesting. Well the rest of the country has forgotten about her and that's why I wanted to do the series because no one knows about her and plus there weren't that many colorful female bandits. But I think I saw some things about her in a state park, maybe a replica of her cabin or some of the caves? Robbers Cave perhaps?

Yeah they say there are tons of wild stories about her that are total myths! lol. Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

I know there is a cabin in Tushmingo, OK, that is supposed to be one she lived in. I haven't seen it, but a friend sent me this photo of it. Like i said, supposed. I haven't seen it, but it is something we think would be a great county story.

Screenshot_20181128-201503_Facebook.jpg

Howdy today xcountytravelers! how interesting and it probably was one that she lived in at some point. Is Tishomingo close to you guys? It would be a great county trip no matter if it's true or not for sure!

It is on lake Texoma and really close to Fort Washita.

oh I see, thank you xcountytravelers...this has nothing to do with it but I heard that the country artist Blake Shelton has a home on Lake Texhoma. My little trivia contribution.

Yeah, he has a restaurant there. The Red Dog i think it's called.

oh really? ha! Have you guys been there? That sounds great, I bet it's good food.Doesn't he have a ranch or farm or something in Oklahoma?

We have not been there yet. We visited the town Tishomingo and the national wildlife recreation center. It was an amazing place. I just loved it.

Shelton? Yes, he's originally from Oklahoma, I think.

We have not been to been Resturant yet. It was not open for business at the time we were there. Yes he actually does have a ranch. I am not sure where, but probably close to Tushmingo.
Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78