Football Is Backkkk!!!! - The Long Wait Comes To An End.

in WOX Sports2 years ago


C8382A0F-B99B-4BAA-8604-1EAAF6FE6C35.jpeg

Cover image designed by me using Canva.

Whew😅, club football is back and we’re still alive. Never thought I’d make it this far after missing almost 2 months of league football.

It hasn’t been easy sitting through weekends with no football to watch and finding literally anything else to do. For those of us with no girlfriends, it’s been even worse. But now, football is back and roles have reversed. I can go watch ball with no worries about neglecting my girl but I can’t say same for others.🤭

B633F51A-35EF-4774-A44E-2541709114BE.png

Friday, the 5th of August 2022 is when football officially returned. Club football returned particularly in the English Premier league (EPL) and the German League (Bundesliga). For some of these, the return of the EPL alone is more than enough.

I don’t watch other league games aside the English premier league and the champions league. I have nothing against the Spanish league, Seria A, Bundesliga but I just can’t bring my self to watching their games.

That is why when I hear people argue about what the best league in the world is, I usually don’t weight in. I believe watching the epl alone doesn’t give me the idea behind the other leagues and it would be completely reckless to indulge in an argument that involves a lot of input.


0DA643EF-1655-4A59-9462-9174D0B8CAFA.jpeg

A screenshot of Saturday’s results taken from SofaScore with my mobile device.

B633F51A-35EF-4774-A44E-2541709114BE.png

The English premier league started of course on Friday with non other than Arteta and his gunners. Arsenal played against Patrick Viera’s crystal palace. The gunners have been so impressive during pre-season which made us all even want to watch them the more. I’ma rival fan so of course I wanted to see them lose. 🤨

But one can only hope. Arsenal were very impressive especially in the first half. They controlled the game for large parts and dictated the rhythm of the play. Debutants Zinchenko and Jesus had good games. Jesus did not score, angering a lot of fpl managers but he did have a good game and was very unlucky to not grab an assist. Was one of the lucky ones to not get him in my team. I this point I thought I was an fpl guru.😏😅

Zincenko however was fortunate to be the provider for the first goal. Arsenal briefly went top of the league leaving Crystal Palace last the only teams to have played.

B633F51A-35EF-4774-A44E-2541709114BE.png

Saturday games started with an early kick off. I’m certain any football fan knows the curse of the early kick off which was in full force. 😅 Liverpool of all teams drew to newly promoted Fulham. They drew at the end of the day but they had to do so coming from behind twice. It’s because of results like that those who stake bets are often advised to not stake in the early Saturday kick offs.

Antonio Conto and his Spurs boys played their first game against Southampton which gave us a glimpse of what to expect this season. They’re surely in contention for at least the top 4 spot after the signings they’ve managed to make and just the fact that Antonio Conte has had his preseason.

At the same time, AFC Bournemouth took on Steven Gerard and his Villains winning 2-0 against Villa. It didn’t take about 15 games for Newcastle to register their first win this campaign as they got their first against Nottingham Forest in a 2-0 victory.

97978B25-7DC2-4BD5-98D6-4BCB970CEF55.png

At around 16:30, the tricky blue of Thomas Tuchel took on club legend and former manager Frank Lampard and his Evertonians. Everton have been very unlucky with injuries and it was evident in their play on Saturday.

They played with almost only defenders. They did manage to create some good changes but failed to capitalize on them. Chelsea were very poor in the final third but very very defensively astute. New signings Koulibaky, Sterling and Cucurella showed they had some substance. Tuchel’s blues ended up with a 1-0 victory via a Jorghino ice cold penalty.


C6A34CB5-C3BC-401E-ACBC-39C583AFE382.jpeg

A screenshot of Sunday’s results taken from SofaScore with my mobile device.

B633F51A-35EF-4774-A44E-2541709114BE.png

Saturday had ended like that and we all couldn’t wait for Eric Teng Hag’s Red Devils to be in action. At least just for the sake of banter, I more than wished they would lose. They had some pretty amazing results in pre season so the friends I have here have been on my neck talking about how much they’ve improved and how easy it would be for them to make top 4.

I was more than glad with the bizarre display they had against Brighton and I hope for more.😏😁 Man United lost 2-1 on Sunday while their rivals Manchester City won 2-0 against David Moye’s West Ham. Erling Haaland opened his premier league account with a brace and would be hoping to add more.

Brendon Rodger’s foxes ended up drawing 2-2 with the men of Thomas Frank.


4451A7E0-A06E-4BE6-92A6-F281FB5FB5C3.jpeg

00351CC5-B6C8-4905-83C6-C9D8A7FC5A04.jpeg

Screenshot of SofaScore using my mobile device.
This is how the league table looks after gameweek 1.

B633F51A-35EF-4774-A44E-2541709114BE.png

Overall, it was a very entertaining return of the premier league and I can already tell it will be a long, interesting season.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Man U defeat was a big surprise! This year big chances for Antonio Conte's Team, is one of the biggest coach in Europe

I was expecting a different game from Man United than what they’ve been doing last season but nothing changed. Their manager has got a lot of work to do. Spurs do have a big chance to compete and I’m certain they will.

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

It is a pleasure to greet you Chenty, there is no doubt that you are a fan of football and you have given us a complete report, in addition to expressing your tastes and preferences in this discipline. I invite you to participate in the current contests that are in WOX Sports. We hope to continue reading you and that you share the latest news about your favorite sport.

Thank you very much. I’ll do well to check out the contests that are still running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69344.82
ETH 3616.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19