Teaching my Son the 'Hardship' of life from the learning of the famous fiction 'Heidi'.

in Parent Club3 years ago

Heidi- one of the popular fiction characters from the kid's storybook. The strong little girl with a heart full of love amuses every kid. Our local TV channel also plays 'Heidi cartoons'. And, just like any other kid, my son also loves Heidi.

But something bothers him every time he watches Heidi. The fact that 'Heidi doesn't have a Mom or Dad'.

d.jpg

My son never accepts the fact that Heidi doesn't have her Mom and Dad by her side, she is an orphan. When I read the story to my son every time it makes him sad. He asks a thousand questions like, where are her parents & when she will meet her parents ie. Also, he forcefully makes the 'aunt' character as Heidi's Mom when he tells me back the story.

I understand how hard it is for a 4 years old to accept the fact that some kids are growing and have to live without their parents. But it's true. So I thought, let's make my son face the reality. It's hard to accept, it's full of fear. But it's better to not live in his comfort shell. After all, he is growing up!

Nope, I didn't teach him about 'death' at this very early age. But I managed to let his fear go and understand the hardship of orphans.

jl.jpg

Everyone is not blessed to have their Mom and Dad by their side. It's okay to grow up sometimes without them. If they get Grandparents or Aunts by their side like Heidi, it's great. If not, then they need to be strong. And that's why you need to feel more grateful that you have both of them.

There's nothing to become sad about. Heidi got a wonderful life, a nice bond with nature. And so as we should focus on the good side of life too.

I know, maybe my son didn't capture everything I said to him. But he will someday soon.

ji.jpg

Our life stories are different and so is our understanding. No matter what it is, teaching kids about the reality of life from an early age is a good thing, I believe. Giving them a glimpse of hardship can make them prepare for this hard world, also will make them strong morally.

I wouldn't say we should traumatize them by those stories, be nice and gentle when you are telling them the truth. Give them examples from around and they will understand gradually.

It's necessary to make them compassionate to others' life, feel the pain of orphans and overall who are going through hardship. And it will make them feel more grateful for sure.

What do you think?

All photos are captured from my son's storybook.

Hive Steem Footer.gif

Twitter Discord

Sort:  

hello dear friend @ rem-steem good day
What a beautiful post. Since I was a child I watched these cartoons and perceived many things that you mention.
It is very true, at an early age you have to instill empathy and love for the other in children.
I really appreciate that you shared this experience
have a nice day

Thanks for saying this. Because I find many moms around me who don't think it's the right way to teach kids about real life. They usually skip Heidie's orphan issue. But I found it very necessary to let kids understand 'what is what'.
Thanks a lot :)

Your post has been upvoted by Steem Sri Lanka Community Curation Trail.

Steem Sri Lanka Discord Channel

✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵✵

Join With
steem-sri.lanka
Curation Trail For Better Curation Rewards

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57254.26
ETH 2887.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60