How I Got Here & Why I’m Still Here - snookmademedoit

How I Got Here & Why I’m Still Here

text15.png

How Did I Get Here?

I found the steem blockchain totally by accident, after reading a post on one of the forum-based websites I used to visit. It was one of a few sites I’d check on when I wanted to see what’s really going on in the world and sometimes engage with others there, occasionally debating if I had something useful to add.

When someone made a post there about steemit.com, and said we could join and get an account and that we could earn steem cryptocurrency just for writing and posting stuff there, I went and signed up.

At that point in time when I read or heard “cryptocurrency,” I thought of bitcoin as I think most people did. Bitcoin was way up there at that time, but I didn’t understand it and I didn’t think it would survive. As you might guess, I had no interest and saw no value in another cryptocurrency.

That we could earn a “steem” cryptocurrency meant little to nothing, as far as being valuable to me in any universe I could imagine ever visiting, but I did see its value in attracting many people to steemit.com.

Knowing that for a lot of people, their interest is piqued if there’s even the slightest chance of something having material value, I figured there would be tons of people here. That meant that at least some fraction of them would read other peoples’ posts, since they could earn too, by commenting.



One thing was both obvious and exciting to me - steemit had created an audience!



text15.png

So I thought I would join up and write some poetry and get some feedback on my work. The crypto aspect was really meaningless to me, other than for its value in drawing even more people, constantly increasing the size of the steemit audience.

The feedback on what I posted was the important thing to me, and I expect that it’s also a great value in that regard to many writers who share their work here.

It’s been what I’ve expected and a whole lot more as well. Knowing that when I post something I’ve written, there is a good possibility that at least one person may read and enjoy it, is way up there on the scale of useful feedback from others. That’s the reward I value the most here on this platform. Did I think it’d be easy? No. Does it matter? No. Is it still great? Absolutely!

Why Am I Still Here?

What I wrote about how I got here should illustrate, to an extent, why I am still here. There’s still an audience; albeit less of an audience than when steem was higher in value, but still, it exists. Maybe I was mistaken or I misinterpreted, but I think I read a post recently that said there are still a million people here. If that’s true, it’s huge!

I understand that a lot of people on this platform have steem’s value as their main interest in this, and they contribute in doing things to help make the platform better, with apps and new initiatives that can help the price of steem rise. They’re important too, but the way they view things is probably a little different than people here for the audience view them.

They aren’t seeking an audience as much as they’re seeking a presence. The presence of a crowd of not only creators, but also those whose acts are in support of the platform itself and the value of the steem crypto. Without them the whole thing would die as surely as if all the content creators quit. I don’t have a problem that their concerns may mainly focus on steem’s value. It’s good that they do.

I’m still here because I enjoy what I do here… immensely. It’s

text15.png

When I joined I knew that I would log onto this site every day. Not long after joining I decided on a plan where I could create and post a new post every single morning. I did that for over a year. My daily morning posts consisted of four poems I would write each day that were based on news stories I’d read and find to be humorous, shocking or outrageous. Poetry had always been what I’d write. I had no interest in prose.

I finally shut down doing the daily poems thing and decided to try my hand at writing something for the dropintheocean tag, which involved a word chosen each week for which we were to create a post. I think I wrote a poem the first time, but then I decided to try writing a fictional story, which I did.

I enjoyed writing it so much that I started writing a fictional story for each week’s word. I had discovered that I really do like writing prose after all. I owe that to steemit, and the fact that I am here purely by chance. It’s one of the best things that have ever been added to my life and growth as a person and as a writer. Since then I’ve been entering and writing stories and articles for contests.

I’ve written more worthwhile content since I’ve been here on the steem blockchain than I ever did or ever would have, without steemit.com. That’s a life value; not something to turn my nose up at. The only way I’m leaving this platform is if it no longer exists. I hope to see it grow stronger and I will be here - just as long as there is an audience too.

P.S. Also, thank you snook for the great help you were a few months ago, in showing me how to make my posts look so much better! :)

text15.png

Sources for images used in this post:

Steemit Mug: Image by francousqui from Pixabay
Crypto Currency: Image by WorldSpectrum from Pixabay
Audience: Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay
Consulting, Training: Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay
Good: Image by Marsel Elia from Pixabay


text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Engagement has been a major factor for me too :)

@alliedforces curate

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 81.41%

Thank you for stopping by to read my post and for the curation! Engagement's the greatest motivator for me, going back as far as I can remember.

I’m glad you came and stayed @free-reign. It definitely is the people one meets along the path that makes all worthwhile. 😊

Thank you @redheadpei, I'm glad too, and grateful for all of the nice people I've met here and in the PHC community such as yourself. Joining and becoming a steemian was a great thing for me, and it keeps me busy doing something I love to do. Win win! :)

The community Steem has is really something! All the people joining together to help one another. What could be better!

And by the way - nice to meet you, I'm BOI, the new kid in the Blog Town.
Have a wonderful day!

Yes, the longer you are here I think, it will be even more clear. Welcome and nice to meet you as well!

I'm glad you're here @free-reign!
@tipu curate

Posted using Partiko Android

Ditto @blueeyes8960 and thank you!

I’ve written more worthwhile content since I’ve been here on the steem blockchain than I ever did or ever would have, without steemit.com. That’s a life value; not something to turn my nose up at.

I LOVE this!!

I think it is why so many stay here. There is always something to learn and the interaction with people on your posts makes it all worth it.

You are very welcome!! HUGS

I think so too, and HUGS returned! :)

Congratulations @free-reign! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Interesting that you found Steemit by accident and that it has meant so much to you!
I'm with you that -

I’ve written more worthwhile content since I’ve been here on the steem blockchain than I ever did or ever would have, without steemit.com

It really perked my interest in writing again and the contest and thought provoking questions have really spurred me to up my writing and I'm happier for it!

Lovely entry and I'm sure we will be seeing more of each other for I don't plan on going anywhere either - very happy here!

@snook is, indeed, a great help to so many people and has been for some time. I am very happy that you are still on STEEM.

In my 2+ years on STEEM I have seen people come, go, and come back! There are those that stay and complain, there are those that stay and contribute. Quite frankly, I wish all of them well.

STEEM is very unique. It is a family, is the best way I can put it. We have the crazy uncles and aunts (yep, I represent that description), we have the nurturing mothers and fathers, the seniors who are like our grandparents, and also them crazy cousins.

Yes STEEM is cosa nostra (our thing). Hopefully, we can get others to join our family.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68362.67
ETH 3798.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49