A new era of music in Sri Lanka | Charitha Attalage

Hi all,

The song "Kuweniye" created a kind of entry point to a new music genre in Sri Lankan Music. It was embraced with love from the young generation. When I first listened to it I felt it was different but didn't really like it. But there was so much fuss about it and I wondered why people like it so much. I knew very little about Charitha back then.

CleanShot 2021-05-30 at 23.29.12@2x.png
source

But things began to change drastically as I listened to his song "Heena Maka" sung by Harshadewa who is a soleful singer. I felt so good after listening to it for the first time. As of today, I have listened to over 100 times literally. It is my favorite song by Charitha up to date.

CleanShot 2021-05-30 at 23.07.53@2x.png

What makes Charitha so unique is his mastery of music. His music does not fall into a single category in fact is a blend of traditional Sri Lankan folk music and modern-aged music. You could hear the Indian classical music mixed with electronica. It deserves its own genre according to me but what Charitha says is Music should not fall into a genre or categorization but it should be a way of communicating to people. He has made around 20 songs up to now and songs like Galana Ganga, Sansaraye, Kuweniye, Radhawani, Rahath Himiwarun, Sakura Male, Sandawathiye are the most popular among fans.

I listen to his music at times when I want to feel motivated or when I have no mood. The beauty of his songs is that you can listen to them despite the mood you are in. When I travel for work on Monday from Galle to Kottawa, I like to get a seat near the window, listen to Charitha's music and brainstorm my feelings. I do this when I bathe as well in the morning. It makes you feel good and good way to get the mind right on track.

CleanShot 2021-05-30 at 23.39.42@2x.png
source

The concert "Kuweni – A Cinematic Musical experience" was a groundbreaking moment for him as the tickets were sold within a matter of few days. I was not lucky enough to experience it but I'm waiting for the next one. According to Charitha, his intentions are to make the concert a way of presenting a story. So each song would have its own story attached to it. He even won Gold Award for the ‘Achievement in Audio-Visual Film’ for WoW Awards Asia along with A.R. Rahuman which explains how good the concert was.

CleanShot 2021-05-30 at 23.30.48@2x.png
source

The fans are waiting eagerly for another set of songs as Charitha has been a bit silent during the last few months. If you are interested in listening to his songs, you could simply check youtube or use a streaming service like Apple Music, Spotify, etc. and if you choose Apple Music checkout my playlist called Sri Lankan Fusion where I have included songs from Charitha and some new artists like Dhanith Sri.

The reason I named this article "A new era of music in Sri Lanka" is that with people starting to love music that is meaningful and with good music with Charitha's introduction it has motivated or nurtured other artists like Dhanith Sri, Tharindu Damsara, Kanchana Anuradhi, Supun Perera, Ridma, Dinesh Gamage etc. in producing beautiful songs replacing the boot songs that were dominating Sri Lankan music. So we are in the best times where songs have a meaning, the music is great, and the audio quality is good with new technology. Let's await some great music!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Recently I found out about this young talented artist. Every one of his songs has a good meaning. I am also addicted to some of his songs.

As well, thank you so much for sharing your play list with us😃

 3 years ago (edited)

I am glad that you are a fan of him and you know how much I love Heena Maka song.

 3 years ago 

Yeah, I know. I remember the lyrics too by hearing it over and over again😅.

You sing next time then

An artist full of values. There is a sense in his music. Although there are artists, there are very few artists who have such sense. I am also addicted to Charitha Atalage's songs. Thank him for appreciating and talking about him.

You are welcome. I am glad people are addicted to his songs. Yes you are right that not everyone has the perfect sense.

He is one my favourite artist. 🤗 his songs are kind of meditation 💆

Yes so true. They give you such a feeling.

One of my favorite singer 😍

Awesome. He is more a music producer than a singer tbh.

 3 years ago (edited)

I think that a song is not a thing just to sing but to be produced with new ideas and tracks. Btw, Kuweniye is one of my fav also.

That's the key point. We see a lot of stars or talent found through reality programs but most fail to produce their own music which is I believe the hardest. The producers are not given enough value unfortunately.

I think after Kasun's era, he must be the most talented one in the industry for younger generation.

Yeah, you are right. I would still have Kasun at the top of my list of favorite singers and Charitha the best music producer. Kasun himself is a great producer as well.

 3 years ago 

India has A.R.RAHAMAN. We have CHARITHA. All his songs have this magical ability to console mind. I think he is on the top of local music industry now. Thumbnails of his songs are also great. Sansaraye maa is my favorite btw.❤

Yes definitely. Everything is perfect about him. The Kuweniye concert videos on youtube show how much effort he puts into a song. It's unbelievable.

 3 years ago 

Frankly, I have enjoyed all these songs/music but it never comes to my mind to find out who is the person behind all these.

Haha. I'm glad that I gave the word of honor to him.

 3 years ago 

image.png

Thank you!

Hi, @yasith,

Thank you for your contribution to the Steem ecosystem.


If you would like to support us, please consider voting for our witness, setting us as a proxy.
Or delegate to @ecosynthesizer to earn a portion of the curation rewards!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70568.35
ETH 3813.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50