5 Different Ways to say 'NO' politely

in onionrings3 years ago

images (94).jpeg

Listen me for one minute. I would like you to shut your eyes and picture this scenario:

You are on your lunch break and a colleague asks you if you wish to travel for a drink with everybody when work. you actually don’t wish to travel, you're bit tired, a touch stressed, you’ve had a busy week and every one you wish to try to to is go home and relax. What does one tell that colleague?

If you're something like me, you may even simply say “Ok, sure!” so you go into a nasty mood for the remainder of the afternoon as a result of you simply couldn’t say NO.

Saying 'NO' are often a tough issue to try to do.
We all lead busy and generally overwhelming lives and it's one thing we tend to all have to be compelled to restore at.

And if speech ‘no’ if tough for many people, I imagine that it's particularly robust if you have got to try to to it in English once English isn't your tongue. It will leave you feeling embarrassed and even annoyed.

Perhaps, you are undecided of the correct expressions and words to use. You don’t wish to harm somebody or allow them to down (to let somebody down means that to cross them) you feel such as you square measure sinning someone and your English is rude or bratty
And here’s the matter. If you say “No, thanks.” or “Sorry, I can’t” though grammatically correct, it will seem rude or abrupt to native speakers. In several things, it's higher to be polite than too direct once speaking in English.

We can be polite by mistreatment specific words and expressions to melt the ‘no’. this kind of English can assist you keep a positive relationship with the person you’re speech, even once you say no. you'll keep it friendly, you won’t feel guilty and you won’t cause offence.

So let’s inspect specifically the way to roll in the hay.

images (2).png

1. Simple, honest, succinct
Let’s suppose the state of affairs that I asked you to image at the start of the lesson. A colleague asks you to affix them for drinks when work. you'll merely say:

“I’m sorry I can’t build it. I’ve got one thing else on tonight. Next time evidently.”

Or in an exceedingly additional skilled context: imagine an analogous scenario, wherever a colleague is asking you to remain back and work on one thing along. you'll use a similar expression, however tweak it slightly:

“I’m sorry I can’t assist you out. I’ve got one thing else planned tonight. I hope you twig all done.”

You are being clear concerning speech no, however you're being summary, while not going into any excuses or while not giving too several details.

  1. do not say perhaps once you mean NO!
    Phrases to avoid:

I’m undecided if I will.
I need to envision if I’m free.
Let Maine come back to to you.
All of those phrases don't seem to be truly speech ‘no’. they're speech perhaps. And generally individuals can insist and place pressure on you to mention affirmative. once you wish to mention no, make certain you're firm and clear.

Here’s how:

I’m afraid that I can’t, I actually have another commitment. I’m extremely sorry.
I’d assist you if I may, however I’m ineffective to. I actually have one thing else I actually have to try to to.
I’d like to, however I’ve already got plans.
These phrases square measure clearly speech no, nevertheless they're polite and they’re not going into any details.

  1. speech no once you feel guilty
    Sometimes you would like to mention no however you're feeling extremely dangerous concerning doing it! You don’t wish to let somebody down, otherwise you feel guilty concerning speech no. Here it’s best to travel a touch additional into detail and to share a reason.

“I’m extremely sorry, however I actually have to mention no. I’ve got an excessive amount of on my plate immediately and that i understand if I say affirmative, I won’t be ready to do my best work.”

Here I’m explaining that I’m over-committed at the instant which if I aforesaid affirmative, i'd find yourself holding that person down as a result of I couldn’t offer my full attention to the task. thus it's a transparent no, however it’s polite and sharing these details build it tough for that person to stay swing pressure on you.

Other reasons you'll give:

I’ve got an excessive amount of on my plate immediately
I’m over-committed immediately
I’m stretched skinny immediately
I’ve unfold myself too skinny at the instant
I’m head-down immediately on a project, thus I won’t be ready to.

  1. Keeping it skilled
    It will happen that you just have to be compelled to flip down work opportunities or refuse invites or maybe say no to somebody once they’ve asked for facilitate.

These phrases square measure good to use in these quite things in an exceedingly work environment:

I can’t, however i do know somebody that may be an honest suited that. I’ll email you their data.
I’m flattered you thought-about Maine, however sadly I’ll have to be compelled to pass now.
You’re thus kind to think about Maine, however i actually can’t.
Thanks for thinking of Maine, however I simply can’t.
Sounds nice, however I can’t commit immediately.
I’m not usurping new things at the instant.

  1. Keeping it friendly
    These phrases square measure nice in each work and social things once you wish to be additional informal

Sounds nice, however I can’t manage that immediately.
I’m slammed. Sorry!
No many thanks, however it sounds pretty.
I would like I were ready to.
I would like I may however …
ACTIVATE
Your intercommunicate place all of this data into practice!

Choose one in every of the situations and share your response within the comments below for feedback 👇

  1. think about a time once you aforesaid ‘yes’ to one thing and you actually regretted it. What would you say otherwise to with courtesy say ‘no’ within the same situation?

  2. a devotee calls you up asking you over for pizza pie however you actually don’t desire it. What does one say?

  3. A colleague asks you to assist out with a project however you have already got method an excessive amount of to try to to. What does one say?

  4. a devotee invitations you to her daughter’s celebration. you'd rather eat your own arm than head to the party. What does one say?

That's all for today. I'll bring another tips for being polite in various ways. Till then take care.

Image source: google

Sort:  

This post has received a 20.59 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71054.38
ETH 3862.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52