Last Birds of the Year

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

I will be working this evening from 3:00pm to 11:30pm and then returning to work at 7:00am, so this will be a rather short and quick post so I can take a 20-30 minute nap before I head in.

Last Sunday and Monday I had to spend some time going through prints, paperwork, and packing things for the mail for my side job. I was doing so in the living room, and I was frequently distracted by the activity at my bird feeder. Mainly, a Bewick's wren (Thryomanes bewickii) and red-breasted nuthatch (Sitta canadensis) have been frequenting my porch feeders and almost always announce their arrival with their kind of shrill, scolding calls.

The wren has been a visit for a while, but definitely has been visiting more often. The nuthatch is a new visitor this winter and a new bird for me, since I have only seen white-breasted nuthatches before. The first time I realized I was looking at a new bird at my feeder was very exciting for me.

It is hard to get decent photos of either species because they are quite shy and quick to retreat. The only photos I have managed to get have been through the glass of my door. Most of the photos of the nuthatch are much too dark because of the location of the peanut feeder, which is the favorite. Luckily, they (I have seen two at once so I know there are at least that many) sometimes visit the cup feeder as well, even chasing off the goldfinches at times.

The goldfinches (lesser, Carduelis psaltria) will eat off of any feeder and they come in large numbers. I think the most I saw at once has been 30+. Recently they have not been as interested in the thistle and have instead been going for the other three feeders with sunflower and peanuts. When they are not at the feeders, I can usually spot the flock of them in the tree next to my porch.

The yellow-rumped warblers (Setophaga coronata) have been visiting as well. Usually they will hop around to pick up the seed that has dropped beneath the feeders. Once in a while, one will perch on one of the deck hooks and sort of survey the area before flying off to forage in one of the trees.

The Bewick's wren is back and making a ruckus right now, which is perfect timing as I need to wrap this up if I want to take that quick nap. I feel like the little wren is serving as a little angry alarm for me heh.

Next time I bird, whether in the field or from my porch, it will be a new year!

Sort:  

I love hearing about your backyard birds, several of which visit my backyard in Wisconsin, too. I know how exciting it is to have a new visitor show up at the feeder.
Hope you got to take that nap!
!Tip

Happy new year!

🎁 Hi @passerine! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: A Wonderful Christmas Gift! Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @passerine! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69107.15
ETH 3882.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65