You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feathered Friends art

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

#3 -- i wonder, what it is about... it isnt a piece of cheese the crow is holding, no?..

If you post from a front end other than Steemit you can use #hive-106444 for your first tag and your #featheredfriends post will show in the Community. Join any communities that are of interest to you. You can make changes at any time.

thanks for this bit of info! I was curious about this, and was planning an experiment to check it out.

Sort:  

It is a pear in the crows mouth.

Yeah... We all need to work together to get communities figured out!

if its a pear (i thought exacty so!) it cannot be an illustration to Aesop's story The Fox and the Crow.... and what it is, then? WHY the pear ?!!! I am simply hooked with the intrigue.. :)

https://www.southwestart.com/articles-interviews/featured-artists/in_the_company_of_ravens

Jim Eppler is the artist. I own several of his smaller raven sculptures and I am fascinated by them, too. I took the photo of the one with the pear in Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA. It was in a garden and I recognized it as being one of Epplers, but I do not know the story behind the pear. I have seen other pieces of his with ravens and apples.

 4 years ago (edited)

maybe it is just for the artist loves apples and peaches, and there is no deeper conception here at all. plausible?

I think he likes working with color on his bronzes, and the fruit gives him an opportunity to use different color patinas.

aha. it does makes sense!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79