Steemit Crypto academy - Blockchain wallet | Homework task - How to easily locate and use a Block explorersteemCreated with Sketch.

in SteemitCryptoAcademy3 years ago (edited)

A block explorer is defined as a blockchain search engine that aids a user in tracking his or any other transactions on the Blockchain network. Miners use this tool to track and confirm the significant block activity on the blockchain. They most especially use this tool to find out whether they have been successful in creating a Block so as to claim their Block reward. Crypto enthusiasts like me also use this tool in order to track the crypto transactions made for example transferring crypto from my crypto wallet to the exchange.

One simpler way to find a block explorer is through heading over to the coinmarketcap. Scroll down their webpage and Check the products offered by the Coinmarketcap and you will find a block explorer. Click on it and you will be redirected to the block explorer.

Blockchain Explorer.png

As for me I practically use the Blockcypher to track my bitcoins that I have sent to Bitpesa’s provided bitcoin address. In turn, they send me mobile fiat money on my phone.

In order to track my transaction, I simply copy the receiver's wallet address and paste it in the block cypher search bar. The search bar is by default set to track BTC transactions but it also supports other cryptocurrency transactions of Ether, Litecoin, Dogecoin, Dash, Grin. It’s just a matter of clicking and choosing your option on the left-hand side of that search bar.
Once you click the search, the Blockexplorer shows you the number of confirmations made for that transaction.

Blockcypher 1.png
image source

Confirmations count begins from 0, takes roughly 10 minutes and showcases 1 confirmation then 2, till the final 6th one. There are 6 confirmations that are a transaction goes through before its completion.
For me the moment, I see 1,2,3 confirmations, I relax, rest assured that the transaction will soon be completed.

How do I check whether the wallet address is valid?

Blockcypher 004.png

image source

You simply copy and paste that wallet address into the Blockexplorer search bar, click search and immediately the block explorer displays to you all the transactions that have gone through that address. When you see such results then it means it’s a valid address.

When you enter an ether wallet address in that BTC default state of the Blockcypher, it will reject it immediately. Remember block cypher supports even Ether but you will have to select that option by clicking and changing its BTC default state to the Ether option.

Blockcypher 006.png
Image source

Cc

@sapwood

Sort:  

Shared on Twitter

Blockexplorer.png

can I share via twiter to get additional votes

I encourage you to go ahead and share your content on your various social platforms and just do so in love and support for steem. Giving you an extra upvote will always depend on the steemit team.
Thanks for reaching out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55