Proverbs 5:12 - Avoiding Immorality

in HeartChurch3 years ago

and thou say, How have I hated instruction, and my heart despised reproof!

This bible verse has been derived from Darby Bible Translation

If you can take a closer look at Proverbs chapter 5 from verse 11 to 13, and take a bible study you will understand verse 11 better which talks more about:

(12) How have I hated instruction.--The last stage of misery is the remorse which comes too late. (Comp. Matthew 25:30.)

  • Ellicott's Commentary

Verse 12. - Self-reproach accompanies the unavailable groaning. And say, How have I hated instruction, and my heart despised reproof! i.e. how could it ever come to pass that I have acted in such a senseless and inexcusable manner, that I have hated instruction (musar, disciplina, παιδεία), the warning voice which dissuaded me from going with the harlot, and in my heart despised, i.e. rejected inwardly, whatever my outward demeanour may have been, the reproof which followed after I had been with her! Despised (naats), as in Proverbs 1:30; comp. also Proverbs 15:5, "A fool despiseth his father's instructions."

  • Pulpit commentary

…11 At the end of your life you will groan when your flesh and your body are spent, 12 and you will say, “How I hated discipline, and my heart despised reproof! 13 I did not listen to the voice of my teachers or incline my ear to my mentors.…

The moral lesson of this Bible verse is:

And say, How have I hated instruction, and my heart despised reproof;

The lesson in the Bible verse has been obtained from: Treasury Of Scripture

Proverbs5_1214.jpg
image source

There are more bible verses closely related to this verse, which are:

  1. Psalm 50:17
    For you hate My instruction and cast My words behind you.

  2. Proverbs 1:7
    The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and discipline.

  3. Proverbs 1:22
    "How long, O simple ones, will you love simplicity? How long will scoffers delight in their scorn and fools hate knowledge?

  4. Proverbs 1:25
    because you neglected all my counsel, and wanted none of my correction,

  5. Proverbs 5:11
    At the end of your life you will groan when your flesh and your body are spent,

  6. Proverbs 8:36
    but he who fails to find me harms himself; all who hate me love death."

  7. Proverbs 12:1
    Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but he who hates correction is stupid.

You can see more translations of today's Bible verse on different Bible versions in BibleHub

seek-wisdom-768x432.jpg
Image source

True Wisdom begins and ends with the Lord. Wisdom is a gift from the Lord.

The book of Proverbs in the Bible has 31 Chapters, each for each day of the month. So I shed some spiritual light in your world each and every day using solo scriptures.

God Bless You!

Till tomorrow

It's your friendly neighborhood Pastor

Tony


source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66856.70
ETH 3114.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75